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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Ryan T. McDougle; Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd 

W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2020 through May 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

36:26 July 29, 2020 August 17, 2020 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

Volume 36, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2020 

2289 

PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-120, Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit Regulation for Discharges from 

Petroleum Contaminated Sites, Groundwater 

Remediation, and Hydrostatic Tests; 9VAC25-196, 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) General Permit for Noncontact Cooling Water 

Discharges of 50,000 Gallons Per Day or Less; and 

9VAC25-860, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System General Permit for Potable Water Treatment 

Plants. The review of these regulations will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether these 

regulations should be repealed, amended, or retained in their 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether each 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable.  

Public comment period begins June 8, 2020, and ends June 

29, 2020.  

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency.  

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

findings for each review will be posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall and published in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations.  

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND  
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 18VAC30-21, Regulations 

Governing Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. 
The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable.  

Public comment period begins June 8, 2020, and ends June 

29, 2020.  

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency.  

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  

Contact Information: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

audbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-510. Pertaining to Amberjack 

and Cobia (amending 4VAC20-510-12 through 4VAC20-

510-37; repealing 4VAC20-510-33).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish weekly harvest reporting and 

commercial fishery closure procedures for cobia to comply 

with Amendment 1 of the Interstate Fisheries Management 

Plan for Atlantic Migratory Group Cobia and (ii) provide 

that a scientific collection permit exempts an aquaculture 

facility employee collecting broodstock from certain 

requirements. 

4VAC20-510-12. Definitions. 

The following terms when used in this chapter shall have the 

following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Amberjack" means any fish of the species Seriola dumerili. 

"Cobia" means any fish of the species Rachycentron 

canadum. 

"Mandatory Harvest Reporting Program Web Application" 

means the online web-based resource provided by the 

commission to report commercial harvest of seafood at 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/harvest/. 

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel, kayak, charter 

vessel, or headboat vessel participating in the recreational 

cobia fishery. 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

"Virginia Saltwater Fisherman's Journal" means the online 

web-based resource provided by the commission to report 

recreational harvest of seafood at 

https://www.vasaltwaterjournal.com/. 

4VAC20-510-15. Recreational cobia permit and 

mandatory reporting. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess or land any 

cobia harvested from a recreational vessel unless the captain 

or operator of that recreational vessel has obtained a 

Recreational Cobia Permit from the Marine Resources 

Commission (commission). The captain or operator shall be 

responsible for reporting for all anglers on the recreational 

vessel and shall provide his Marine Resources Commission 

identification (MRC ID) number, the date of harvest, the 

number of individuals on board, the mode of fishing, and the 

number of cobia kept or released. Any captain or operator 

who did not participate in any recreational cobia season shall 

be responsible for reporting that captain's or that operator's 

lack of participation. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess or land any 

cobia harvested recreationally from shore, a pier, or any other 

man-made structure without first having obtained a 

Recreational Cobia Permit from the Marine Resources 

Commission. Any such permittee shall provide his MRC ID 

number, the date of harvest, the mode of fishing, and the 

number of cobia kept or released on that report to the 

commission. Permittees shall be responsible for reporting all 

trips. Any permittee who did not participate in any 

recreational cobia season shall be responsible for reporting 

that permittee's lack of participation. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any recreational cobia permittee 

to fail to report trips where cobia are caught, whether 

harvested, released, or possessed in accordance with this 

section on forms provided by the commission within seven 

days after the trip occurred. It shall be unlawful for any 

permittee to fail to report trips where cobia were targeted but 

not successfully caught, by the 21st day after the close of any 

recreational cobia fishery season on forms provided by the 

commission or through the Virginia Saltwater Fisherman's 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/harvest/
https://www.vasaltwaterjournal.com/
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Journal. Reports shall include MRC ID number, the date of 

harvest, the mode of fishing, the number of cobia kept or 

released, and, if fishing from a vessel, the number of persons 

on board. 

1. Any permittee who did not participate in the any 

recreational cobia season shall notify the commission of 

his report the permittee's lack of participation by the 21st 

day after the close of the recreational cobia season on 

forms provided by the commission or through the Virginia 

Saltwater Fisherman's Journal. 

2. Following the 21st day after the close of any recreational 

cobia season, any permittee who failed to report, whether 

there was harvest or no activity during that season, shall be 

ineligible to receive a Recreational Cobia Permit for the 

following cobia season but shall be eligible to reapply for 

that permit in subsequent years Any permittee shall report 

trips where cobia were targeted but not successfully caught 

by the 21st day after the close of any recreational cobia 

fishery season. 

3. Any permittee shall report trips where cobia were 

caught, whether harvested, released, or possessed, within 

seven days after the trip occurred. 

D. Following the 21st day after the close of any recreational 

cobia season, any permittee who failed to report for any 

season shall be ineligible to receive a recreational cobia 

permit for the following calendar year but shall be eligible to 

reapply for that permit in subsequent years. 

4VAC20-510-20. Recreational fishery possession limits;, 

season closure, and vessel allowance.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess more than two amberjack or more than one cobia at 

any time. Any amberjack or cobia caught after the possession 

limit has been reached shall be returned to the water 

immediately. When fishing from any boat or vessel where the 

entire catch is held in a common hold or container, the 

possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be 

equal to the number of persons on board legally eligible to 

fish multiplied by two for amberjack or one for cobia, except 

there is a maximum vessel limit of three cobia per vessel per 

day. That vessel limit may only include one cobia greater than 

50 inches in total length. The captain or operator of the boat 

or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel 

possession limit. Any cobia caught after the possession limit 

has been reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to harvest or possess any cobia before June 1 or after 

September 30 of the current calendar year. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess more than two amberjack at any time. When 

fishing from any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held 

in a common hold or container, the possession limit for the 

boat or vessel shall be equal to the number of persons on 

board legally eligible to fish multiplied by two. The captain 

or operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any 

boat or vessel possession limit. Any amberjack caught after 

the possession limit has been reached shall be returned to the 

water immediately. 

4VAC20-510-25. Commercial fishery possession limits 

and, season, and reporting requirements. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

to possess more than two amberjack or more than two cobia 

at any time, except as described in 4VAC20-510-33. Any 

amberjack or cobia caught after the possession limit has been 

reached shall be returned to the water immediately. When 

fishing from any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held 

in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall be 

for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of 

valid commercial fisherman registration licensees on board 

multiplied by two, except there is a maximum vessel limit of 

six cobia per vessel per day. The captain or operator of the 

boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel 

possession limit. Any cobia caught after the possession limit 

has been reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

B. In 2019 it shall be unlawful for any person fishing 

commercially to harvest or possess any cobia after September 

30. Any commercial harvest of cobia shall only be reported 

through the Mandatory Harvest Reporting Program Web 

Application. Such reports shall record daily harvests from 

Sunday through Saturday and be submitted on a weekly basis 

no later than Wednesday of the following week in accordance 

with 4VAC20-610. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, land, 

or possess any cobia for commercial purposes once it has 

been announced by the commission that the commercial 

quota has been landed for the current calendar year. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

to possess more than two amberjack at any time. When 

fishing from any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held 

in a common hold or container, the possession limit for the 

boat or vessel shall be equal to the number of valid 

commercial fisherman registration licensees on board 

multiplied by two. The captain or operator of the boat or 

vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel possession 

limit. Any amberjack caught after the possession limit has 

been reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

E. The possession of amberjack or cobia by licensed seafood 

buyers or wholesale and retail seafood establishments when 

operating in their capacity as buyer, wholesaler, or retailer 

shall not be limited by the possession limits described in this 

section. 
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4VAC20-510-30. Minimum size Size limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or have 

in possession any amberjack less than 32 inches in total 

length.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

to take, harvest, or possess any cobia less than 37 inches in 

total length.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or have 

in possession any recreationally harvested cobia less than 40 

inches in total length. 

D. When fishing from any boat or vessel, it shall be 

unlawful to take, catch, or have in possession more than one 

recreationally harvested cobia greater than 50 inches in total 

length per vessel. 

4VAC20-510-33. Exceptions to possession limits and 

minimum size limits. (Repealed.) 

A. Nothing in 4VAC20-510-25 shall limit the possession of 

amberjack or cobia by licensed seafood buyers or wholesale 

and retail seafood establishments when operating in their 

capacity as buyer, wholesaler, or retailer.  

B. Nothing in 4VAC20-510-25 and 4VAC20-510-30 shall 

limit the possession of cobia by an aquaculture facility that is 

permitted in accordance with the provisions of 4VAC20-510-

35.  

C. Any person employed by a permitted cobia aquaculture 

facility for the purpose of harvesting cobia as broodstock for 

the aquaculture facility shall be exempt from the provisions of 

4VAC20-510-20 and 4VAC20-510-30 provided that person 

possesses a scientific collection permit issued by the 

commissioner.  

4VAC20-510-35. Aquaculture of cobia; permit required.  

A. Any person operating an aquaculture facility in which 

cobia that exceed the possession limit or are of sublegal size 

will be cultured, possessed, offered for sale, or sold shall first 

obtain a permit from the commissioner for the facility. That 

permit shall exempt the facility from the possession 

requirements described in 4VAC20-510-20, 4VAC20-510-25, 

and 4VAC20-510-30, and authorize the possession, culturing, 

and sale of sublegal size cobia.  

B. The application for a cobia aquaculture permit shall list 

the name and address of the applicant, the type and location 

of the facility, and an estimate of production capacity. An 

aquaculture permit shall be valid for 10 years from the date of 

issue and may be renewed by the commissioner provided the 

permittee has complied with all of the provisions of this 

chapter. The issuance and continuation of any person's cobia 

aquaculture permit are contingent on that designated facility 

being open for inspection by the Marine Resources 

Commission for the purposes of determining compliance with 

this regulation. An aquaculture permit is not transferable.  

C. Any person employed by a permitted cobia aquaculture 

facility for the purpose of harvesting cobia as broodstock for 

the aquaculture facility shall be exempt from the provisions of 

4VAC20-510-20, 4VAC20-510-25, and 4VAC20-510-30 

provided that person possesses a scientific collection permit 

issued by the commissioner. 

4VAC20-510-37. Sale, Aquaculture of cobia; sale, records, 

importation, and release.  

A. All cobia produced by an aquaculture facility permitted 

under this section shall be packaged prior to sale with a 

printed label indicating the product is of aquaculture origin. 

When packaged and labeled according to these requirements, 

such fish may be transported and sold at retail or wholesale or 

for commercial distribution through normal channels of trade 

until reaching the consumer.  

B. Cobia that measure less than the lawful minimum size 

described in 4VAC20-510-30 B but are the product of a 

permitted aquaculture facility in another state may be 

imported into Virginia for the consumer market. Such fish 

shall be packaged and labeled in accordance with the 

provisions contained in subsection A of this section.  

C. Release of live fish. Under no circumstance shall It shall 

be unlawful for any cobia produced by an aquaculture facility 

located within or outside the Commonwealth of Virginia to 

be placed into the waters of the Commonwealth without first 

having notified the commissioner and having received written 

permission from the commissioner.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6381; Filed May 26, 2020, 11:16 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-610. Pertaining to 

Commercial Fishing and Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

(amending 4VAC20-610-20, 4VAC20-610-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish weekly harvest reporting for 

cobia to comply with Amendment 1 of the Interstate 

Fisheries Management Plan for Atlantic Migratory Group 

Cobia. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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4VAC20-610-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agent" means any person who possesses the commercial 

fisherman registration license, fishing gear license, or fishing 

permit of a registered commercial fisherman in order to fish 

that commercial fisherman's gear or sell that commercial 

fisherman's harvest. 

"Clam aquaculture harvester" means any person who 

harvests clams from leased, subleased, or fee simple ground 

or any aquaculture growing area, within or adjacent to 

Virginia tidal waters. 

"Clam aquaculture product owner" means any person or 

firm that owns clams on leased, subleased, or fee simple 

ground, or any aquaculture growing area within or adjacent to 

Virginia tidal waters that are raised by any form of 

aquaculture. This does not include any riparian shellfish 

gardeners whose activities are authorized by 4VAC20-336, 

General Permit No. 3 Pertaining to Noncommercial Riparian 

Shellfish Growing Activities. 

"Clam aquaculture product owner vessel" means any vessel, 

legally permitted through a no-cost permit, by a clam 

aquaculture product owner, used to transport clam 

aquaculture harvesters who do not possess an individual clam 

aquaculture harvester permit. 

"Cobia" means any fish of the species Rachycentron 

canadum. 

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Marine 

Resources Commission. 

"Continuing business enterprise" means any business that is 

required to have a Virginia Seafood Buyer's License or is 

required to have a business license by county, city, or local 

ordinance. 

"Mandatory Harvest Reporting Program Web Application" 

means the online web-based resource provided by the 

commission to report commercial harvest of seafood at 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/harvest/. 

"Oyster aquaculture harvester" means any person who 

harvests oysters from leased, subleased, or fee simple ground 

or any aquaculture growing area, within or adjacent to 

Virginia tidal waters. 

"Oyster aquaculture product owner" means any person or 

firm that owns oysters on leased, subleased, or fee simple 

ground, or any aquaculture growing area within or adjacent to 

Virginia tidal waters that are raised by any form of 

aquaculture. This does not include any riparian shellfish 

gardeners whose activities are authorized by 4VAC20-336, 

General Permit No. 3 Pertaining to Noncommercial Riparian 

Shellfish Growing Activities.  

"Oyster aquaculture product owner vessel" means any 

vessel, legally permitted through a no-cost permit, by an 

oyster aquaculture product owner, used to transport oyster 

aquaculture harvesters who do not possess an individual 

oyster aquaculture harvester permit. 

"Sale" means sale, trade, or barter. 

"Sell" means sell, trade, or barter. 

"Selling" means selling, trading, or bartering. 

"Sold" means sold, traded, or bartered. 

4VAC20-610-60. Mandatory harvest reporting. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any valid commercial fisherman 

registration licensee, seafood landing licensee, oyster 

aquaculture product owner permittee, or clam aquaculture 

product owner permittee to fail to fully report harvests and 

related information as set forth in this chapter. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman, 

charter boat captain, head boat captain, commercial fishing 

pier operator, or owner of a private boat licensed pursuant to 

§§ 28.2-302.7 through 28.2-302.9 of the Code of Virginia, to 

fail to report recreational harvests, upon request, to those 

authorized by the commission. 

C. All registered commercial fishermen and any valid 

seafood landing licensee shall complete a daily form 

accurately quantifying and legibly describing that day's 

harvest from Virginia tidal waters and federal waters. The 

forms used to record daily harvest shall be those provided by 

the commission or another form approved by the commission. 

Registered commercial fishermen and seafood landing 

licensees may use more than one form when selling to more 

than one buyer. 

D. Any oyster aquaculture product owner permittee or clam 

aquaculture product owner permittee shall complete a 

monthly form accurately quantifying and legibly describing 

that month's harvest from Virginia tidal waters. The forms 

used to record monthly harvest shall be those provided by the 

commission or another form approved by the commission.  

E. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, valid oyster aquaculture product owner permittees, 

and valid clam aquaculture product owner permittees shall 

submit a monthly harvest report to the commission no later 

than the fifth day of the following month, except as described 

in subsection F of this section. This report shall be 

accompanied by the daily harvest records described in 

subsection F G of this section. Completed forms shall be 

mailed or delivered to the commission or other designated 

locations. 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/harvest/
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F. All reports of the commercial harvest of cobia shall only 

be submitted through the Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program Web Application. This report shall provide daily 

harvest records from Sunday through Saturday as described in 

subsection G of this section and be submitted on a weekly 

basis no later than Wednesday of the following week. 

G. The monthly harvest report requirements shall be as 

follows: 

1. Registered commercial fishermen shall be responsible 

for providing monthly a harvest report and daily harvest 

records that include the name and signature of the 

registered commercial fisherman and his the commercial 

fisherman's registration license number; the name and 

license registration number of any agent, if used; the 

license registration number of no more than five helpers 

who were not serving as agents; any buyer or private sale 

information; the date of any harvest; the city or county of 

landing that harvest; the water body fished, gear type, and 

amount of gear used for that harvest; the number of hours 

any gear was fished and the number of hours the registered 

commercial fisherman fished; the number of crew on 

board, including captain; species harvested; market 

category; live weight or processed weight of species 

harvested; and vessel identification (Coast Guard 

documentation number, Virginia license number, or 

hull/VIN number). Any information on the price paid for 

the harvest may be provided voluntarily.  

2. The monthly harvest report from oyster aquaculture 

product owner permittees and clam aquaculture product 

owner permittees shall include the name, signature, permit 

number, lease number, date of the last day of the reporting 

month, city or county of landing, gear (growing technique) 

used, weight or amount of species harvested by market 

category, total number of individual crew members for the 

month, and buyer or private sale information.  

3. The monthly harvest report and daily harvest records 

from seafood landing licensees shall include the name and 

signature of the seafood landing licensee and his the 

licensee's seafood landing license number; buyer or private 

sale information; date of harvest; city or county of landing; 

water body fished; gear type and amount used; number of 

hours gear fished; number of hours the seafood landing 

licensee fished; number of crew on board, including 

captain; nonfederally permitted species harvested; market 

category; live weight or processed weight of species 

harvested; and vessel identification (Coast Guard 

documentation number, Virginia license number, or 

hull/VIN number). 

G. H. Registered commercial fishermen, oyster aquaculture 

product owner permittees and clam aquaculture product 

owner permittees not fishing during a month, or seafood 

landing licensees not landing in Virginia during a month, 

shall so notify the commission no later than the fifth of the 

following month by postage paid postal card provided by the 

commission or by calling the commission's toll free telephone 

line. 

H. I. Any person licensed as a commercial seafood buyer 

pursuant to § 28.2-228 of the Code of Virginia shall maintain 

for a period of one year a copy of each fisherman's daily 

harvest record form for each purchase made. Such records 

shall be made available upon request to those authorized by 

the commission. 

I. J. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, oyster aquaculture product owner permittees, and 

clam aquaculture product owner permittees shall maintain 

their harvest records for one year and shall make them 

available upon request to those authorized by the 

commission. 

J. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, and licensed seafood buyers shall allow those 

authorized by the commission to sample harvest and seafood 

products to obtain biological information for scientific and 

management purposes only. Such sampling shall be 

conducted in a manner that does not hinder normal business 

operations. 

K. The reporting of the harvest of federally permitted 

species from beyond Virginia's tidal waters that are sold to a 

federally permitted dealer shall be exempt from the 

procedures described in this section. 

L. The owner of any purse seine vessel or bait seine vessel 

(snapper rig) licensed under the provisions of § 28.2-402 of 

the Code of Virginia shall submit the Captain's Daily Fishing 

Reports to the National Marine Fisheries Service, in 

accordance with provisions of Amendment 1 to the Interstate 

Fishery Management Plan of the Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission for Atlantic Menhaden, which became 

effective July 2001. 

M. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, and licensed seafood buyers shall allow those 

authorized by the commission to sample harvest and seafood 

products to obtain biological information for scientific and 

management purposes only. Such sampling shall be 

conducted in a manner that does not hinder normal business 

operations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6382; Filed May 26, 2020, 11:38 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
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Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 

Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-20, 4VAC20-950-45 through 

4VAC20-950-49).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish the commercial black sea 

bass fishery quota for 2020 and (ii) make technical 

changes to clarify whether requirements apply to directed 

fishery permits or bycatch fishery permits. 

4VAC20-950-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Annual quota" means the Commonwealth's 20% share of 

the annual coastwide commercial black sea bass quota 

managed by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission. 

"Black sea bass" means any fish of the species Centropristis 

striata.  

"Land" or "landing" means to (i) enter port with finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood on board any 

boat or vessel; (ii) begin offloading finfish, shellfish, 

crustaceans, or other marine seafood; or (iii) offload finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood. 

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel, kayak, charter 

vessel, or headboat participating in the recreational black sea 

bass fishery. 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, excluding 

the caudal fin filament, measured with the tail compressed 

along the midline, using a straight-line measure, not measured 

over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-950-45. Recreational possession limits and 

seasons.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other recreational gear to 

possess more than 15 black sea bass. When fishing is from a 

boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common 

hold or container, the possession limit shall be for that boat or 

vessel and shall be equal to the number of persons on board 

legally licensed to fish, multiplied by 15. The captain or 

operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for that boat 

or vessel possession limit. Any black sea bass taken after the 

possession limit has been reached shall be returned to the 

water immediately. 

B. Possession of any quantity of black sea bass that exceeds 

the possession limit described in subsection A of this section 

shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes.  

C. The open recreational fishing season shall be from 

February 1 through February 29, May 15 through May 31, 

and June 22 through December 31. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or possess any black sea bass, except during an 

open recreational season. 

E. From February 1 through February 29, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to possess or land any black sea bass 

harvested from a recreational vessel, unless the captain or 

operator of that recreational vessel has obtained a 

Recreational Black Sea Bass Permit from the Marine 

Resources Commission. The captain or operator shall be 

responsible for reporting for all anglers on the recreational 

vessel and shall provide his that captain's or that operator's 

Marine Resources Commission identification (MRC ID) 

number, the date of fishing, the number of individuals 

persons on board, the mode of fishing, and the number of 

black sea bass kept or released. That report shall be submitted 

to the commission or to the Standard Atlantic Fisheries 

Information System, as described in this subsection. It shall 

be unlawful for any permittee to fail to report trips where 

black sea bass were caught, whether harvested, released, or 

possessed in accordance with this section, on forms provided 

by the commission or through the Virginia Saltwater 

Fisherman's Journal within seven days after the trip occurred. 

It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail to report trips 

where black sea bass were targeted but not successfully 

caught by March 15 of the current calendar year. Any 

permittee who did not participate in the recreational black sea 

bass season during February shall notify the commission of 

his the permittee's lack of participation by March 15 of the 

current calendar year. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail to contact the 

Law Enforcement Operations at 1-800-541-4646 before or 

immediately after the start of each fishing trip. The permittee 

shall provide the Law Enforcement Operations with his the 

permittee's name, MRC ID number, the point of landing, a 

description of the vessel, estimated return to shore time, and a 

contact phone number. Any authorized permittee shall allow 

commission staff to sample the catch to obtain biological 

information for scientific and management purposes only. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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4VAC20-950-46. Directed fishery and bycatch fishery 

permits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to participate in the 

commercial black sea bass fishery or to possess, harvest, or 

sell black sea bass, except as described in 4VAC20-950-60 

and 4VAC20-950-70, without first qualifying for and 

obtaining either a directed fishery permit or a bycatch fishery 

permit from the commission, as described, respectively, in 

subsections B, C, and D of this section, unless that person 

meets the requirements described in 4VAC20-950-48.2.  

B. Any person who qualified for a directed commercial 

black sea bass fishery permit, as of January 1, 2003, by 

satisfying all the eligibility criteria listed in this subsection 

shall remain eligible for that permit, unless that person 

permanently transferred all his that person's shares of the 

directed fishery quota.  

1. That person shall hold either a Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License or a Seafood Landing License in 

addition to a federal Black Sea Bass Moratorium Permit; 

and  

2. That person shall have landed and sold in Virginia at 

least 10,000 pounds of black sea bass from July 1, 1997, 

through December 31, 2001.  

C. Any person who meets the eligibility criteria of 

subsection B of this section but no longer meets the 

requirements of subdivision B 1 of this section shall remain 

eligible to transfer shares of his that person's directed fishery 

quota in accordance with 4VAC20-950-48.1.  

D. A person shall be considered eligible for a bycatch 

commercial black sea bass fishery permit by satisfying all of 

the following eligibility criteria:  

1. That person shall hold either a Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License or a Seafood Landing License, in 

addition to a federal Black Sea Bass Moratorium Permit; 

and  

2. That person shall have landed and sold in Virginia at 

least one pound of black sea bass from July 1, 1997, 

through December 31, 2001.  

4VAC20-950-47. Commercial harvest quotas.  

A. The annual commercial black sea bass directed fishery 

quota is 664,000 pounds shall be allocated 100% of the 

annual quota each year except the commercial directed 

fishery quota shall not include the amount of annual quota 

allocated to the commercial black sea bass bycatch fishery 

specified in subsection B of this section. When it has been 

announced by the commission that the directed fishery quota 

has been projected as reached and the directed fishery has 

been closed, it shall be unlawful for any directed commercial 

black sea bass directed fishery permittee to possess aboard 

any vessel or land in Virginia any black sea bass.  

B. The annual commercial black sea bass bycatch fishery 

quota is shall be allocated 40,000 pounds of the annual quota 

each calendar year. When it has been announced that the 

bycatch fishery quota has been projected as reached and the 

bycatch fishery has been closed, it shall be unlawful for any 

bycatch commercial black sea bass bycatch fishery permittee 

to possess aboard any vessel or land in Virginia any black sea 

bass. In the event the bycatch fishery quota is exceeded, the 

amount of the bycatch fishery quota overage shall be 

deducted from the following year's bycatch fishing quota.  

4VAC20-950-48. Individual fishery quotas; bycatch limit; 

at sea harvesters; exceptions.  

A. Each person possessing a directed fishery permit shall be 

assigned an individual fishery quota, in pounds, for each 

calendar year. A person's individual fishery quota shall be 

equal to that person's percentage of the total landings of black 

sea bass in Virginia from July 1, 1997, through December 31, 

2001, multiplied by the directed commercial fishery black sea 

bass directed fishery quota for the current calendar year. Any 

directed fishery permittee shall be limited to landings in 

Virginia in the amount of his the permittee's individual 

fishery quota, in pounds, in any calendar year and it shall be 

unlawful for any permittee to exceed his that permittee's 

individual fishery quota. In addition to the penalties 

prescribed by law, any overages of an individual's a 

permittee's individual fishery quota shall be deducted from 

that permittee's individual fishery quota for the following 

year.  

B. In the determination of a person's percentage of total 

landings, the commission shall use the greater amount of 

landings from either the National Marine Fisheries Service 

Dealer Weigh-Out Reports or National Marine Fisheries 

Service Vessel Trip Reports that have been reported and filed 

as of November 26, 2002. If a person's percentage of the total 

landings of black sea bass is determined by using the Vessel 

Trip Reports as the greater amount, then the person shall 

provide documentation to the Marine Resources Commission 

to verify the Vessel Trip Reports as accurate. This 

documentation may include dealer receipts of sales or other 

pertinent documentation, and such documentation shall be 

submitted to the commission by December 1, 2004. In the 

event the commission is not able to verify the full amount of 

the person's Vessel Trip Reports for the qualifying period, the 

commission shall use the greater amount of landings, from 

either the Dealer Weigh-Out Reports or the verified portion of 

the Vessel Trip Reports to establish that person's share of the 

directed fishery quota.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting black sea 

bass to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any 

amount of black sea bass that exceeds the combined total of 

any portion of the Virginia permitted landing limit, as 

described in subsection A of this section, and the North 

Carolina legal landing limit. 
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D. It shall be unlawful for any person permitted for the 

bycatch fishery to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard a vessel or land in Virginia more than 

200 pounds of black sea bass in addition to the North 

Carolina legal landing limit or trip limit, in any one day, 

except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection; 

2. Possess aboard a vessel or land in Virginia more than 

1,500 pounds of black sea bass in addition to the North 

Carolina legal landing limit or trip limit, in any one day, 

provided that the total weight of black sea bass on board 

the vessel does not exceed 10%, by weight, of the total 

weight of summer flounder, scup, Longfin squid, and 

Atlantic mackerel on board the vessel; or 

3. Possess aboard a vessel or land in Virginia more than 

100 pounds of black sea bass in addition to the North 

Carolina legal landing limit or trip limit when it is 

projected and announced that 75% of the bycatch fishery 

quota has been taken. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to transfer black sea 

bass from one vessel to another while at sea.  

F. An individual fishery quota, as described in subsection A 

of this section, shall be equal to an individual's a person's 

current percentage share of the directed fishery quota, as 

described in 4VAC20-950-47 A.  

4VAC20-950-48.1. Individual transferable quotas.  

A. Shares of the directed fishery quota, in pounds, held by 

any permitted fisherman in the directed fishery may be 

transferred to another person, and such transfer shall allow 

the transferee to harvest, possess, and land black sea bass in 

Virginia in a quantity equal to the shares of the directed 

fishery quota transferred, provided that transferee satisfies the 

eligibility requirements described in 4VAC20-950-46 B 1.  

B. Any transfer of black sea bass shall be limited by the 

following conditions. 

1. Commercial black sea bass shares of the directed fishery 

quota shall not be transferred in any quantity less than 200 

pounds.  

2. No person permitted for the directed fishery may hold 

more than 20% of the annual directed fishery quota.  

3. No transfer of shares of the black sea bass directed 

fishery quota shall be authorized unless such transfer is 

documented on a form provided by the commission and 

approved by the commissioner.  

4. Any person who receives a permanent transfer of 

directed fishery quota but does not satisfy the eligibility 

requirements described in 4VAC20-950-46 B 1 shall 

remain eligible to transfer shares of his that person's 

directed fishery quota in accordance with this section.  

C. Transfers of all or a portion of any person's share of the 

directed fishery quota may be permanent or temporary. 

Transferred directed fishery quota shall only be used by the 

transferee for black sea bass landed in Virginia. Permanent 

transfers of shares of directed fishery quota shall grant to the 

transferee that transferred share of the directed fishery quota 

for future years, and the transferor loses that same transferred 

share of the directed fishery quota in future years. Temporary 

transfers of shares of the directed fishery quota shall allow the 

transferee to harvest that transferred share of the directed 

fishery quota during the year in which the transfer is 

approved. Thereafter, any transferred share of the directed 

fishery quota reverts back to the transferor.  

4VAC20-950-48.2. Alternate vessel authorization 

requirements.  

A. Any person possessing a directed fishery permit may 

authorize an alternate vessel to harvest, possess, and land any 

portion of his that person's individual directed fishery quota, 

provided the following conditions are met:  

1. The directed fishery permit holder has submitted a 

completed and notarized alternate vessel authorization 

form to the commission.  

2. The alternate vessel named on the authorization form 

holds a federal Black Sea Bass Moratorium Permit and that 

alternate vessel either holds a Virginia Seafood Landing 

License or that alternate vessel's owner and operator holds 

a Commercial Fisherman Registration License.  

3. The alternate vessel authorization has been accepted and 

approved by the commissioner.  

4. The alternate vessel maintains copies of the alternate 

vessel authorization form and the permit of the directed 

fishery quota owner at all times while serving as the 

alternate vessel.  

B. No authorization for an alternate vessel to land black sea 

bass shall extend for more than 60 days from the date the 

commissioner approves the authorization. After 60 days, any 

unused portion of directed fishery quota authorized for the 

alternate vessel shall revert to its directed fishery permit 

holder.  

4VAC20-950-49. Reporting requirements.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person permitted for the 

directed fishery, the bycatch fishery, or for an authorized 

alternate landing vessel to fail to contact, within one hour of 

landing, the Law Enforcement Operations to report his that 

person's name and the name of the vessel, his that person's 

permit number, the location where catch will be offloaded, 

and the estimated weight of the landing of black sea bass.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person permitted for the 

directed fishery, the bycatch fishery, or for an authorized 

alternate landing vessel to fail to contact, within 24 hours of 
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landing, the Marine Resources Commission's Interactive 

Voice Recording System to report the name of the permit 

holder and the name of the vessel that landed the black sea 

bass, date of landing, the permit number, and the weight of 

black sea bass landed.  

C. Any buyer of black sea bass from a directed fishery 

permittee, a bycatch fishery permittee, or an authorized 

alternate landing vessel shall maintain records of all 

purchases for the current year and prior year and make those 

records available to the Marine Resources Commission upon 

request.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6383; Filed May 26, 2020, 1:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-210. Virginia Water 

Protection Permit Program Regulation. 

9VAC25-660. Virginia Water Protection General Permit for 

Impacts Less Than One-Half Acre. 

9VAC25-670. Virginia Water Protection General Permit for 

Facilities and Activities of Utility and Public Service 

Companies Regulated by the Federal Energy Regulatory 

Commission or the State Corporation Commission and 

Other Utility Line Activities. 

9VAC25-680. Virginia Water Protection General Permit for 

Linear Transportation Projects. 

9VAC25-690. Virginia Water Protection General Permit for 

Impacts from Development and Certain Mining Activities. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

698-4103, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-210) 

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division Permit 

Application Fee Form, Form 5 (rev. 10/2018) 

Standard Joint Permit Application for Projects in Waters and 

Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 9/2018)  

Standard Joint Permit Application (rev. 10/2019) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 

Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Tidewater Joint Permit Application for Projects Involving Tidal 

Waters, Tidal Wetlands and/or Dunes and Beaches in Virginia 

(rev. 9/2018) 

Tidewater Joint Permit Application (JPA) for Projects 

Involving Tidal Waters, Tidal Wetlands and/or Dunes and 

Beaches in Virginia (rev. 10/2019) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-Tenth 

Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007) 

FORMS (9VAC25-660)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division Permit 

Application Fee Form, Form 5 (rev. 10/2018) 

Standard Joint Permit Application for Projects in Waters and 

Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 9/2018) 

Standard Joint Permit Application (rev. 10/2019) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 

Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-Tenth 

Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007)  

FORMS (9VAC25-670)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division Permit 

Application Fee Form, Form 5 (rev. 10/2018) 

Standard Joint Permit Application for Projects in Waters and 

Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 9/2018) 

Standard Joint Permit Application (rev. 10/2019) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 

Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-Tenth 

Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007) 

FORMS (9VAC25-680)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division Permit 

Application Fee Form, Form 5 (rev. 10/2018) 

Standard Joint Permit Application for Projects in Waters and 

Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 9/2018) 

Standard Joint Permit Application (rev. 10/2019) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 

Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-Tenth 

Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007)  

FORMS (9VAC25-690)  

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 

Permit Application Fee Form, Form 5 (rev. 10/2018) 

mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
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http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e1e3004015~4&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab1e0006373~29.pdf&typ=40&actno=006373&mime=application/pdf
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http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba4e1004015~9&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67baa005735~11Y.pdf&typ=40&actno=005735&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67baa005735~11Y.pdf&typ=40&actno=005735&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7b6a3006373~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006373&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e1e3004015~4&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e1e3004015~4&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba4e1004015~9&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba4e1004015~9&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67baa005735~11Y.pdf&typ=40&actno=005735&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67baa005735~11Y.pdf&typ=40&actno=005735&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c61e6006373~49.pdf&typ=40&actno=006373&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e1e3004015~4&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e1e3004015~4&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba4e1004015~9&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba4e1004015~9&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
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Standard Joint Permit Application for Projects in Waters and 

Wetlands of the Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 9/2018) 

Standard Joint Permit Application (rev. 10/2019) 

Virginia Department of Transportation, Inter-Agency 

Coordination Meeting Joint Permit Application (eff. 6/2008) 

Monthly Reporting of Impacts Less than or Equal to One-

Tenth Acre Statewide (eff. 8/2007) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6373; Filed May 11, 2020, 3:43 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-412. Regulations for 

Licensure of Abortion Facilities (repealing 12VAC5-412-

10 through 12VAC5-412-370).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-127 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX 

(804) 527-4502, or email 

regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal Regulations for Licensure of 

Abortion Facilities (12VAC5-412). Chapters 898 and 899 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly repeal the statutory provision 

classifying a facility that performs five or more first-

trimester abortions per month as a category of hospital, 

thereby removing such a facility from the State Board of 

Health's regulatory authority. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6352; Filed May 19, 2020, 12:38 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any 

agency of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-200. Rules Governing Long-

Term Care Insurance (amending 14VAC5-200-125).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Bob Grissom, Chief Insurance Market 

Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9152, FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 

bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove the due date for annual long-term 

care rate reports and allow the bureau to set the date by 

administrative letter. The new deadline for the annual rate 

report is anticipated to be in September or October of each 

year. 

AT RICHMOND, MAY 7, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2020-00033 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Amending Rules 

Governing Long-Term Care Insurance 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDMENTS TO RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered March 11, 2020, 

insurers and interested persons were ordered to take notice 

that subsequent to May 1, 2020, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") would consider the entry of an 

order adopting amendments to rules set forth in Chapter 200 

of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled 

"Rules Governing Long-Term Care Insurance," which amend 

the Rules at 14 VAC 5-200-125, unless on or before May 1, 

2020, any person objecting to the adoption of the 

amendments to the Rules filed a request for a hearing with the 

Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk"). 

The Order also required insurers and interested persons to 

file their comments in support of or in opposition to the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ecbb8006373~69.pdf&typ=40&actno=006373&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e1e3004015~4&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e1e3004015~4&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba4e1004015~9&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba4e1004015~9&typ=40&actno=004015&mime=application/pdf
mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov
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proposed amendments to the Rules with the Clerk on or 

before May 1, 2020. 

No request for a hearing and no comments were filed with 

the Clerk.  

The amendments to the Rules are necessary to allow more 

flexibility with the due date for the annual long-term care rate 

report. The Commission intends to allow the Bureau to set a 

due date of on or about October 1 annually by administrative 

letter. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 

proposed amendments is of the opinion that the attached 

amendments to the Rules should be adopted as proposed, 

effective June 15, 2020. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The amendments to Chapter 200 of Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code at 14 VAC 5-200-125, which is 

attached hereto and made a part hereof, are hereby 

ADOPTED effective June 15, 2020. 

(2) The Bureau shall provide notice of the adoption of the 

amendments to the Rules to all insurers licensed in Virginia 

to write long-term care insurance and to all interested 

persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the amended 

Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached amendments 

to the Rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission a 

certificate of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

(6) This case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 

placed in the file for ended causes.  

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, at mail to: mbrowder@oag.state,va.us, 

202 North 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219; 

and a copy hereof shall be delivered to the Commission's 

Office of General Counsel and the Bureau of Insurance in 

care of Deputy Commissioner Julie S. Blauvelt. 

14VAC5-200-125. Annual rate reports. 

A. Every insurer shall report to the commission annually by 

June 30 premium rates for all long-term care insurance 

policies. The commission shall establish the due date and post 

this report to the Bureau of Insurance's webpage. The rate 

report shall include: 

1. For policies issued on or after October 1, 2003, an 

actuarial certification prepared, dated, and signed by a 

qualified actuary that provides at least the following 

information: 

a. A statement of the sufficiency of the current premium 

rate schedule including: 

(1) For policies currently marketed: 

(a) The premium rate schedule continues to be sufficient 

to cover anticipated costs under moderately adverse 

experience, consistent with the margins as defined in the 

original rate filing or any subsequent rate filing, and that 

the premium rate schedule is reasonably expected to be 

sustainable over the life of the form with no future 

premium increases anticipated; or 

(b) If the statement in subdivision 1 a (1) (a) of this 

subsection cannot be made, a statement that margins for 

moderately adverse experience, consistent with the 

margins as defined in the original rate filing or any 

subsequent rate filing, may no longer be sufficient. In 

this situation, the insurer shall submit to the commission 

within 60 days of the date of the actuarial certification a 

plan of action, including a timeframe, for the 

reestablishment of adequate margins for moderately 

adverse experience so that the ultimate premium rate 

schedule would be reasonably expected to be sustainable 

over the future life of the form with no future premium 

increases anticipated. Failure to submit a plan of action to 

the commission within 60 days or to comply with the 

timeframe stated in the plan of action constitutes grounds 

for withdrawal or modification of approval of the form 

for future sales. 

(2) For policies that are no longer marketed: 

(a) A statement that the premium rate schedule continues 

to be sufficient to cover anticipated costs under best 

estimate assumptions; or 

(b) A statement that the premium rate schedule may no 

longer be sufficient. The insurer shall submit to the 

commission within 60 days of the date of the actuarial 

certification a plan of action, including a timeframe for 

the reestablishment of adequate margins for moderately 

adverse experience. 

b. A description of the review performed that led to the 

statement. 

c. At least once every three years, an actuarial 

memorandum dated and signed by a qualified actuary 

that supports the actuarial certification and provides at 

least the following information: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
mailto:mbrowder@oag.state,va.us
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(1) A detailed explanation of the data sources and review 

performed by the actuary prior to making the statement 

in subdivision 1 a (1) of this subsection; 

(2) A complete description of experience assumptions 

and their relationship to the initial pricing assumptions; 

(3) A description of the credibility of the experience data; 

and 

(4) An explanation of the analysis and testing performed 

in determining the current presence of margins.  

2. For policies issued prior to October 1, 2003, the report 

shall include a statement signed by a qualified actuary that 

a complete analysis and review of the premium rates was 

conducted, a description of the analysis, the date on which 

the analysis was completed, and any rate action found to be 

necessary as a result of the analysis. 

B. Reports required in this section shall be based on the 

previous calendar year data and filed with the commission no 

later than June 30 the due date. The commission may request 

any additional information that will support the information 

required in this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6337; Filed May 8, 2020, 10:49 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 

regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to 

regulants and applicants. The Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-20. Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations (amending 18VAC41-20-140). 

18VAC41-50. Tattooing Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-50-130). 

18VAC41-60. Body-Piercing Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-60-90).  

18VAC41-70. Esthetics Regulations (amending 18VAC41-

70-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In compliance with § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendments provide a temporary reduction in application, 

renewal, and reinstatement fees for all licenses issued by 

the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology on or before 

August 31, 2022. 

18VAC41-20-140. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 
DUE 

September 1, 

2016 2020, 
through August 

31, 2020 2022 

AMOUNT 

DUE 
September 1, 

2020 2022, and 

after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $75 $95 $105 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $95 $105 

With 

application 

Renewal: 

Barber $75 $95 $105 

With 

renewal card 

prior to 
expiration 

date 

Master Barber $75 $95 $105 

With 

renewal card 
prior to 

expiration 

date 

Cosmetologist $75 $95 $105 

With 

renewal card 

prior to 
expiration 

date 

Nail 

Technician 
$75 $95 $105 

With 

renewal card 
prior to 

expiration 

date 

Wax 

Technician 
$75 $95  $105 

With 

renewal card 

prior to 
expiration 

date 

mailto:barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
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Reinstatement 

$150* $190* 

*includes $75 

$95 renewal 
fee and $75 

$95 

reinstatement 

fee 

$210* 
*includes $105 

renewal fee 

and $105 
reinstatement 

fee 

With 
reinstatement 

application 

Instructors: 

Application $100 $115 $125 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$100 $115 $125 

With 

application 

Renewal $100 $115 $150 

With 

renewal card 
prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$200* $230* 

*includes $100 

$115 renewal 
fee and $100 

$115 

reinstatement 

fee 

$300* 
*includes $150 

renewal fee 

and $150 
reinstatement 

fee 

With 
reinstatement 

application 

Facilities: 

Application $130 $170 $190 
With 

application 

Renewal $130 $170 $190 

With 

renewal card 

prior to 
expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$260* $340* 

*includes $130 
$170 renewal 

fee and $130 

$170 
reinstatement 

fee 

$380* 

*includes $190 

renewal fee 
and $190 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Schools: 

Application $140 $190 $220 
With 

application 

Add Program $100 $100 
With 

application 

Renewal $140 $190 $220 

With 
renewal card 

prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$280* $380* 

*includes $140 
$190 renewal 

fee and $140 

$190 
reinstatement 

fee 

$440* 

*includes $220 

renewal fee 
and $220 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

18VAC41-50-130. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2016 2020, 

through 

August 31, 

2020 2022 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2020 2022, 

and after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals:  

Application $75 $95 $105 With application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $95 $105 With application 

Renewal $75 $95 $105 

With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$150* $190* 

*includes 

$75 $95 

renewal fee 

and $75 $95 

reinstatement 

fee 

$210* 

*includes 

$105 

renewal fee 

and $105 

reinstatement 

fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

Instructors:  

  Application $100 $115 $125 With application 

  
License by 

Endorsement 
$100 $115 $125 With application 

  Renewal $100 $115 $150 

With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

  Reinstatement 

$200* $230* 

*includes 

$100 $115 

renewal fee 

and $100 

$115 

reinstatement 

fee 

$300* 

*includes 

$150 

renewal fee 

and $150 

reinstatement 

fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

Parlors or salons: 

  Application $130 $170 $190 With application 

  Renewal $130 $170 $190 

With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 

  Reinstatement 

$260* $340* 

*includes 

$130 $170 

renewal fee 

and $130 

$170 

reinstatement 

fee 

$380* 

*includes 

$190 

renewal fee 

and $190 

reinstatement 

fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

Schools: 

  Application $140 $190 $220 With application 

  Renewal $140 $190 $220 

With renewal card 

prior to expiration 

date 
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  Reinstatement 

$280* $380* 

*includes 

$140 $190 

renewal fee 

and $140 

$190 

reinstatement 

fee 

$440* 

*includes 

$220 

renewal fee 

and $220 

reinstatement 

fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

18VAC41-60-90. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2016 2020, 

through 

August 31, 

2020 2022 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 

2020 2022, 

and after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals:  

  Application $75 $95 $105 
With 

application 

  
License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $95 $105 

With 

application 

  Renewal: $75 $95 $105 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

  Reinstatement 

$150* $190* 

*includes $75 

$95 renewal 

fee and $75 

$95 

reinstatement 

fee 

$210* 

*includes $105 

renewal fee 

and $105 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Salons: 

 

    

  Application $130 $170 $190 
With 

application 

  Renewal $130 $170 $190 

With renewal 

card prior to 

expiration 

date 

  Reinstatement 

$260* $340 

*includes $130 

$170 renewal 

fee and $130 

$170 

reinstatement 

fee 

$380* 

*includes $190 

renewal fee 

and $190 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

18VAC41-70-120. Fees. 

The following fees apply: 

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 1, 
2016 2020, 

through and 

August 31, 

2020 2022 

AMOUNT 

DUE 
September 1, 

2020 2022, 

and after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $75 $95 $105 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$75 $95 $105 

With 

application 

Renewal $75 $95 $105 

With 
renewal card 

prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$150* $190* 

*includes 

$75 $95 
renewal fee 

and $75 $95 

reinstatement 

fee 

$210* 

*includes 

$105 
renewal fee 

and $105 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 
reinstatement 

application 

Instructors: 

Application $100 $115 $125 
With 

application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$100 $115 $125 

With 

application 

Renewal $100 $115 $150 

With 

renewal card 
prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$200* $230* 

*includes 

$100 $115 
renewal fee 

and $100 

$115 
reinstatement 

fee 

$300* 
*includes 

$150 

renewal fee 
and $150 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Spas: 

Application $130 $170 $190 
With 

application 

Renewal $130 $170 $190 

With 

renewal card 
prior to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$260* $340* 
*includes 

$130 $170 

renewal fee 
and $130 

$170 

reinstatement 

fee 

$380* 

*includes 
$190 

renewal fee 

and $190 
reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

Schools: 

Application $140 $190 $220 
With 

application 

Renewal $140 $190 $220 

With 

renewal card 

prior to 
expiration 

date 
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Reinstatement 

$280* $380* 

*includes 

$140 $190 
renewal fee 

and $140 

$190 
reinstatement 

fee 

$440* 
*includes 

$220 

renewal fee 
and $220 

reinstatement 

fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6365; Filed May 11, 2020, 1:01 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 

18VAC90-30-10, 18VAC90-30-20, 18VAC90-30-50, 

18VAC90-30-85, 18VAC90-30-110, 18VAC90-30-120; 

adding 18VAC90-30-86). 

18VAC90-40. Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for 

Nurse Practitioners (amending 18VAC90-40-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date Extended Through: December 5, 2020. 

The Governor approved the request of the Board of Nursing 

to extend the June 6, 2020, expiration date of the emergency 

regulation for six months as provided by § 2.2-4011 D of the 

Code of Virginia. Therefore, the emergency regulation will 

continue in effect through December 5, 2020. The emergency 

regulation permits a nurse practitioner who meets certain 

statutory requirements, pursuant to Chapter 776 of the 2018 

Acts of Assembly, to practice without a practice agreement 

with a patient care team physician. Allowing this emergency 

regulation to expire would make the board unable to approve 

nurse practitioners for independent practice, which would not 

be in the interest of public health and safety. The emergency 

regulation was published in 35:10 VA.R. 1315-1319 January 

7, 2019. The final stage of the regulatory action to adopt a 

permanent replacement for the emergency regulation has been 

submitted for publication in Volume 36, Issue 22 of the 

Virginia Register on June 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5512; Filed May 26, 2020,  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with a 

hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219.  

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy. 

18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing Pharmaceutical 

Processors. 

Contact Information: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 

or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20)  

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for a Nonresident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

7/2018) 

Application for a Nonresident Outsourcing Facility 

Registration (rev. 7/2018) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (rev 6/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Medical Equipment Supplier 

(rev. 7/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Nonresident Medical 

Equipment Supplier (rev. 7/2018) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 7/2018) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 5/2020) 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 5/2018) 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 

Donated Drugs (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 5/2018) 

Registration for a Facility to be an Authorized Collector for 

Drug Disposal (rev. 5.2018) 

Application for Re-Inspection of a Facility (rev. 8/2019) 

Notification of Distribution Cessation due to Suspicious 

Orders (rev. 5/2018)  

FORMS (18VAC110-60) 

Application for registration of a patient, online form 

available at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a parent or legal guardian, 

online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7299
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7299
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3df89004673~18.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9f837004673~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9f837004673~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e553004673~38.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e553004673~38.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a165b004673~48.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0cc4004673~58.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0cc4004673~58.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5c900004673~68.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5c900004673~68.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6b04c006378~3e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006378&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6b04c006378~3e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006378&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7e83004673~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec3b4004673~118.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec3b4004673~118.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85495004673~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85495004673~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8b0e004673~159.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
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Application for registration of a practitioner to issue 

certifications, online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (eff. 

6/2019) 

Patient Parent or Legal Guardian Reporting Requirements 

(eff. 6/2019) 

Practitioner Reporting Requirements (eff. 6/2019) 

Registration of CBD or THC-A Oil Products (eff. 6/2019)  

Pharmaceutical Processor Inspection Form (eff. 10/2019) 

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent (eff. 

12/2019) 

Request for Visitor Approval (eff. 5/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6378; Filed May 19, 2020, 9:53 a.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing 

Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, Third-Party 

Logistics Providers, and Warehousers (adding 

18VAC110-50-55).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date Extended Through: December 11, 2020. 

The Governor approved the request of the Board of Pharmacy 

to extend the expiration date of the emergency regulation for 

six months as provided by § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of 

Virginia. Therefore, the emergency regulation will continue 

in effect through December 11, 2020. The emergency 

regulation establishes the requirements for delivery of 

Schedule VI devices directly to an ultimate user or consumer 

on behalf of a medical equipment supplier upon a valid order 

from a prescriber or upon request from the medical director of 

a home health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, 

or hospice. The Board of Pharmacy canceled its March 

meeting due to Executive Order Number Fifty-One (2020) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency Due to Novel 

Coronavirus (COVID-19) and was unable to take final action 

for replacement of the emergency regulations until May 18, 

2020. The extension is required in order to continue enforcing 

18VAC110-50-55, which implements Chapters 241 and 242 

of the 2018 Acts of Assembly. The emergency regulation was 

published in 35:9 VA.R. 1193-1194 December 24, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5526; Filed May 26, 2020,  

 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48323004878~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48323004878~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db532004878~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db532004878~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91500004878~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3140004878~4).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b212c006224~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=006224&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b19f0006378~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006378&mime=application/pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/issue.aspx?voliss=36:17&type=7
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/issue.aspx?voliss=36:17&type=7
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/issue.aspx?voliss=36:17&type=7
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7276
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONSGOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER AMENDED NUMBER FIFTY-ONE 

(2020) 

Extending Declaration of a State of Emergency 
Due to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue  

The Commonwealth of Virginia continues to respond to the 

novel coronavirus (COVID19) pandemic.  

Therefore, I declare that a state of emergency continues to 

exist in the Commonwealth of Virginia with respect to our 

response to the potential spread of COVID-19, a 

communicable disease of public health threat. The effects of 

COVID-19 constitute a disaster as described in § 44-146.16 

of the Code of Virginia (Code). By virtue of the authority 

vested in me by Article V of the Constitution of Virginia, by 

§§ 44-146.17 and 44-75.1 of the Code, as Governor and 

Director of Emergency Management and Commander-in-

Chief of the Commonwealth’s armed forces, I proclaim that a 

state of emergency continues to exist. Accordingly, I again 

direct state and local governments to continue to render 

appropriate assistance to prepare for this event, to alleviate 

any conditions resulting from the situation, and to implement 

recovery and mitigation operations and activities so as to 

return impacted areas to pre-event conditions as much as 

possible. Emergency services shall be conducted in 

accordance with § 44-146.13 et seq. of the Code. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures, I order the 

following actions:  

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia’s Emergency Operations Plan, as amended, along 

with other appropriate state plans.  

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

and the Virginia Emergency Support Team, as directed by the 

State Coordinator of Emergency Management, to coordinate 

the provision of assistance to state, local, and tribal 

governments and to facilitate emergency services assignments 

to other agencies. 

C. Authorization for the heads of executive branch agencies, 

on behalf of their regulatory boards as appropriate, and with 

the concurrence of their Cabinet Secretary, to waive any state 

requirement or regulation, and enter into contracts without 

regard to normal procedures or formalities, and without 

regard to application or permit fees or royalties. All waivers 

issued by agencies shall be posted on their websites.  

D. Activation of § 59.1-525 et seq. of the Code related to 

price gouging.  

E. Activation of the Virginia National Guard to State Active 

Duty.  

F. Authorization of a maximum of $10,000,000 in state sum 

sufficient funds for state and local government mission 

assignments and state response and recovery operations 

authorized and coordinated through the Virginia Department 

of Emergency Management allowable by The Stafford Act, 

42 USC § 5121 et seq. Included in this authorization is 

$1,000,000 for the Department of Military Affairs, if it is 

called to State Active Duty. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Order shall be effective as of March 12, 2020, and shall 

remain in full force and effect until amended or rescinded by 

further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 26th day of May, 2020. 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-ONE (2020) AND 

ORDER OF PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY THREE 

Phase One Easing of Certain Temporary 
Restrictions Due to Novel Coronavirus  

(COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue 

On March 12, 2020, I declared a state of emergency existed in 

the Commonwealth due to the spread of the novel 

coronavirus (COVID-19), a communicable disease of public 

health threat. In that Order, I banned out-of-state travel for 

state employees, with some limited exceptions. The next day, 

I closed all K-12 schools for two weeks. Two days later, I 

ordered a statewide ban on public events of more than 100 

people according to guidance from the Center on Disease 

Control and Prevention. On March 17, 2020, the State Health 

Commissioner and I issued Order of Public Health 

Emergency One (Health Order No. 1), later amended, which 

limited restaurants, fitness centers, and theaters to 10 or fewer 

patrons. 

On March 23, 2020, I issued Executive Order 53. That Order 

closed certain recreational and entertainment business, limited 

the operations of non-essential retail businesses, restaurants 

and dining establishments, and banned gatherings of more 

than 10 people. It also closed all K-12 schools for the 

remainder of the academic school year and urged Virginians 

to stay home except for essential travel. Executive Order 55, 

which was issued on March 30, 2020, established a temporary 

Stay at Home Order unless carrying out a necessary life 

function and continued limiting all in-person gatherings to 10 

people or fewer. It also ceased in-person instruction of less 

than 10 people at all institutions of higher education, 

restricted certain reservations at privately-owned 

campgrounds, and closed all public beaches except for 

exercising and fishing. 

The objective of these actions was to slow the spread of this 

virulent and deadly disease. These extreme measures were 
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necessary to save lives. By issuing the Stay at Home Order, 

encouraging physical distancing and teleworking, restricting 

businesses and gatherings, we lowered transmission rates. 

These measures also prevented our healthcare systems from 

being overwhelmed—affording our healthcare systems and 

healthcare providers time to acquire the tools and resources 

necessary to respond to the virus. Equally as important, these 

measures were also necessary to prepare Virginians for the 

new normal of living and working in the midst of a pandemic. 

Now, we must set the path forward. While Virginia's efforts 

and sacrifices seem to have slowed the spread of the virus, we 

know it is still present. It is critical that as we begin to ease 

some of the restrictions in the next phase of our response, we 

remain vigilant, cautious, and measured. We cannot race back 

to the lives we led before the pandemic. The path forward 

will not be business as usual. We must remember to continue 

to practice physical distancing, to continue teleworking, 

whenever possible, to wash our hands frequently, to not touch 

our faces, and to wear face covering whenever possible. 

These measures, as well as the ones outlined below, are 

meant to make necessary ventures outside of your home safer, 

but everyone, especially those who may be more vulnerable 

to the virus, must understand we are all safer at home.  

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of the Code 

of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in furtherance of 

Executive Order 51, and by virtue of the authority vested in 

the State Health Commissioner pursuant to §§ 32.1-13, 32.1-

20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, the following is 

ordered: 

A. EASING OF BUSINESS RESTRICTIONS  

1. All Businesses  

Any businesses, not listed in this section, should adhere to 

the Guidelines for All Business Sectors expressly 

incorporated by reference herein as best practices. This 

guidance is located here.  

2. Restaurants, Dining Establishments, Food Courts, 

Breweries, Microbreweries, Distilleries, Wineries, and 

Tasting Rooms  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, restaurants, 

dining establishments, food courts, breweries, 

microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, and tasting rooms 

may operate delivery, take-out, and outdoor dining and 

beverage services only, provided such businesses comply 

with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors, and sector-

specific guidance for restaurant and beverage services 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements: 

a. Occupancy may not exceed the 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy, if 

applicable.  

b. No more than 10 patrons may be seated as a party.  

c. Tables at which dining parties are seated must be 

positioned six feet apart from other tables. If tables are not 

movable, parties must be seated at least six feet apart.  

d. No self-service of food (except beverages), including 

condiments. Condiments should be removed from tables 

and dispensed by employees upon the request of a 

customer. Buffets must be staffed by servers. For self-

service beverage areas, use beverage equipment designed 

to dispense by a contamination-free method.  

e. Bar seats and congregating areas of restaurants must be 

closed to patrons except for through-traffic. Non-bar 

seating in an outdoor bar area may be used for customer 

seating as long as a minimum of six feet is provided 

between parties at tables.  

f. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

g. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently 

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes 

during operation. Tabletops, chairs, and credit card/bill 

folders must be cleaned in between patrons.  

h. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

3. Farmers Markets  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, farmers 

markets may reopen, provided such businesses comply 

with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-

specific guidelines for farmers markets incorporated by 

reference herein. Such guidance includes, but is not limited 

to, the following requirements:  

a. On-site shopping is allowed, as long as physical 

distancing guidelines are followed. Configure operations to 

avoid congestion or congregation points.  

b. Employees and vendors in customer-facing areas must 

wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. Vendors must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons and employees.  

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently 

contacted surfaces must be conducted.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

4. Brick And Mortar Retail Businesses Not Listed In 

Section C, Paragraph 1 (Non-Essential Retail)  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
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Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, any brick and 

mortar retail business not listed in section C, paragraph 1 

may continue to operate, provided such businesses comply 

with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-

specific guidance for brick and mortar retail expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy must be limited to no more than 50% of the 

lowest occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy.  

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

5. Fitness and Exercise Facilities  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, fitness centers, 

gymnasiums, recreation centers, sports facilities, and 

exercise facilities may reopen for outdoor activities only. 

Indoor activities are prohibited. Outdoor activities may be 

conducted provided such businesses comply with the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines for fitness and exercise facilities expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Patrons, members, and guests must remain at least ten 

feet apart during all activities.  

b. Hot tubs, spas, splash pads, spray pools, and interactive 

play features must be closed.  

c. Outdoor swimming pools may be open for lap swimming 

only and must be limited to one person per lane. 

d. Employees working in customer-facing areas are 

required to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth 

at all times.  

e. Employers must ensure cleaning and disinfection of 

shared equipment after each use.  

f. Facilities shall prohibit the use of any equipment that 

cannot be thoroughly disinfected between uses (e.g., 

climbing rope, exercise bands, etc.).  

g. Businesses must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons, members, and guests.  

h. All group outdoor activities may not have more than 10 

guests, patrons, or members.  

i. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

6. Personal Care and Personal Grooming Services  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, beauty salons, 

barbershops, spas, massage centers, tanning salons, tattoo 

shops, and any other location where personal care or 

personal grooming services are performed may reopen, 

provided such businesses comply with the Guidelines for 

All Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

personal care and personal grooming services expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy may not exceed 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy with at least 

six feet of physical distancing between work stations and 

only one appointment per service provider at a time.  

b. Service providers and employees working in customer-

facing areas must wear face coverings over their nose and 

mouth at all times.  

c. Provide face coverings for clients or ask that clients 

bring a face covering with them, which they must wear 

during the service. Limit services to only those that can be 

completed without clients removing their face covering.  

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes in 

operations, while cleaning and disinfecting all personal 

care and personal grooming tools after each use. If that is 

not possible such items must be discarded.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

7. Campgrounds  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, privately-

owned campgrounds, as defined in § 35.1-1 of the Code of 

Virginia may reopen, provided they comply with the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines for campgrounds, which are expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements: 

a. A minimum of 20 feet must be maintained between units 

for all lots rented for short-term stays of less than 14 nights 

(and not owned by individuals).  

b. Employees working in public-facing areas are required 

to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all 

times.  

c. It is recommended that campgrounds must strongly 

encourage customers to wear face coverings over their nose 

and mouth.  

d. The provision of hand washing in bath houses and 

sanitizing stations for guests and employees.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  



Governor 

Volume 36, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2020 

2309 

8. Indoor Shooting Ranges  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, indoor 

shooting ranges may reopen, provided they comply with 

the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy must be limited to 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy with at least 

six feet of physical distancing between individuals at all 

times. Use every other lane to achieve six feet of physical 

distancing.  

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas are 

required to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth 

at all times.  

c. Perform thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently 

contacted surfaces every 60 minutes in operation, while 

disinfecting all equipment between each customer use and 

prohibiting the use of equipment that cannot be thoroughly 

disinfected.  

d. Either thoroughly clean shared or borrowed equipment in 

between uses, or only allow the use of personal equipment 

at the range.  

e. It is recommended that facilities strongly encourage 

patrons, members, and guests to wear face coverings over 

their nose and mouth while in the facility.  

f. If any such indoor shooting range cannot adhere to these 

requirements, it must close.  

9. Enforcement  

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines appear here. The Virginia Department of Health 

shall have authority to enforce section A of this Order. Any 

willful violation or refusal, failure, or neglect to comply 

with this Order, issued pursuant to § 32.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant 

to § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. The State Health 

Commissioner may also seek injunctive relief in circuit 

court for violation of this Order, pursuant to § 32.1-27 of 

the Code of Virginia. In addition, any agency with 

regulatory authority over a business listed in section A may 

enforce this Order as to that business to the extent 

permitted by law. 

B. CONTINUED RESTRICTIONS  

1. Certain Recreational and Entertainment Businesses  

All public access to recreational and entertainment 

businesses set forth below shall remain closed:  

a. Theaters, performing arts centers, concert venues, 

museums, and other indoor entertainment centers;  

b. Racetracks and historic horse racing facilities; and  

c. Bowling alleys, skating rinks, arcades, amusement parks, 

trampoline parks, fairs, arts and craft facilities, aquariums, 

zoos, escape rooms, public and private social clubs, and all 

other places of indoor public amusement.  

2. All Public And Private In-Person Gatherings  

All public and private in-person gatherings of more than 10 

individuals are prohibited. The presence of more than 10 

individuals performing functions of their employment is 

not a "gathering." A "gathering" includes, but is not limed 

to, parties, celebrations, or other social events, whether 

they occur indoors or outdoors.  

This restriction does not apply to the gathering of family 

members living in the same residence. "Family members" 

include blood relations, adopted, step, and foster relations, 

as well as all individuals residing in the same household. 

Family members are not required to maintain physical 

distancing while in their homes.  

a. Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, individuals 

may attend religious services subject to the following 

requirements:  

i. Religious services must be limited to no more than 50% 

of the lowest occupancy load on the certificate of 

occupancy of the room or facility in which the religious 

services are conducted.  

ii. Individuals attending religious services must be at least 

six feet apart when seated and must practice proper 

physical distancing at all times. Family members, as 

defined above, may be seated together.  

iii. Mark seating in six-foot increments and in common 

areas where attendees may congregate.  

iv. Persons attending religious services must strongly 

consider wearing face coverings over their nose and mouth 

at all times.  

v. No items can be passed to or between attendees, who are 

not family members, as defined above.  

vi. Any items used to distribute food or beverages must be 

disposable, used only once, and discarded.  

vii. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently 

contacted surfaces must be conducted prior to and 

following any religious service.  

viii. Post signage at the entrance that states that no one with 

a fever or symptoms of COVID-19 is permitted in the 

establishment.  

ix. Post signage to provide public health reminders 

regarding social distancing, gatherings, options for high 

risk individuals, and staying home if sick.  

x. If religious services cannot be conducted in compliance 

with the above requirements, they must not be held in-

person.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
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Further, any social gathering held in connection with a 

religious service is subject to the public and private in-person 

gatherings restriction in section B, paragraph 2. Additional 

suggested guidance can be found here. 

3. K-12 Schools  

K-12 schools, public and private, will continue to be closed 

for in-person instruction for the remainder of the 2019-

2020 school year. Those facilities providing child care 

services may remain open.  

4. Institutions of Higher Education  

Institutions of higher education shall continue to cease all 

in-person classes and instruction, and cancel all gatherings 

of more than ten individuals. For purposes of facilitating 

remote learning, performing critical research, or 

performing essential functions, institutions of higher 

education may continue to operate, provided that social 

distancing requirements are maintained. 

5. Public Beaches  

Continued closure of all public beaches as defined in 

§ 10.1-705 of the Code of Virginia for all activity, except 

exercising and fishing. Physical distancing requirements 

must be followed. 

6. Overnight Summer Camps  

Overnight services of summer camps, as defined in § 35.1-

1 of the Code of Virginia, must cease.  

7. Enforcement  

Violations of section B paragraphs 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6 of this 

Order shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. CONTINUED GUIDANCE AND DIRECTION  

1. Essential Retail Businesses  

Essential retail businesses as set out below may remain 

open during their normal business hours. They should 

comply with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors 

expressly incorporated by referenced and linked here, as 

best practices. Employers are required to provide face 

coverings to employees.  

a. Grocery stores, pharmacies, and other retailers that sell 

food and beverage products or pharmacy products, 

including dollar stores, and department stores with grocery 

or pharmacy operations;  

b. Medical, laboratory, and vision supply retailers;  

c. Electronic retailers that sell or service cell phones, 

computers, tablets, and other communications technology;  

d. Automotive parts, accessories, and tire retailers as well 

as automotive repair facilities;  

e. Home improvement, hardware, building material, and 

building supply retailers;  

f. Lawn and garden equipment retailers;  

g. Beer, wine, and liquor stores;  

h. Retail functions of gas stations and convenience stores;  

i. Retail located within healthcare facilities;  

j. Banks and other financial institutions with retail 

functions;  

k. Pet and feed stores;  

l. Printing and office supply stores; and  

m. Laundromats and dry cleaners.  

2. State Agencies  

All relevant state agencies shall continue to work with all 

housing partners to execute strategies to protect the health, 

safety, and well-being of Virginians experiencing 

homelessness during this pandemic and to assist Virginians 

in avoiding evictions or foreclosures.  

3. Face Coverings  

The waiver of § 18.2-422 of the Code of Virginia is 

continued, so as to allow the wearing of a medical mask, 

respirator, or any other protective face covering for the 

purpose of facilitating the protection of one's personal 

health in response to the COVID-19 public health 

emergency declared by the State Health Commissioner on 

February 7, 2020, and reflected in Executive Order 51 

declaring a state of emergency in the Commonwealth. 

Executive Order 51 remains so amended. This waiver is 

effective as of March 12, 2020. 

4. Large State Events  

Continued cancellation of all specially-scheduled state 

conferences and large events.  

5. State Travel  

Continued cessation of all official travel outside of Virginia 

by state employees, with increased flexibility for inter-state 

commuters and essential personnel.  

6. Exceptions  

Nothing in the Order shall limit: (a) the provision of health 

care or medical services; (b) access to essential services for 

low-income residents, such as food banks; (c) the 

operations of the media; (d) law enforcement agencies; or 

(e) the operation of government.  

7. Expiration of Order  

Amended Order of the Governor and State Health 

Commissioner Declaration of Public Health Emergency, 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Religious-Services-Guidelines.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
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Order of Public Health Emergency One shall expire on at 

11:59 p.m., on May 14, 2020.  

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Order shall be effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 

2020. This Order further amends Executive Order 55 (2020). 

Unless otherwise expressly provided herein, this Executive 

Order shall remain in full force and effect until 11:59 p.m., 

Wednesday, June 10, 2020, unless amended or rescinded by 

further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, this 8th day of May, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-ONE (2020) AND 

AMENDED ORDER OF PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY 

THREE 

Phase One Easing of Certain Temporary 
Restrictions Due to Novel Coronavirus  

(COVID-19) 

Expansion of Permitted Activities at Beaches in the 
City of Virginia Beach 

Importance of the Issue 

On March 12, 2020, I declared a state of emergency existed in 

the Commonwealth due to the spread of the novel 

coronavirus (COVID-19), a communicable disease of public 

health threat. In that Order, I banned out-of-state travel for 

state employees, with some limited exceptions. The next day, 

I closed all K-12 schools for two weeks. Two days later, I 

ordered a statewide ban on public events of more than 100 

people according to guidance from the Center on Disease 

Control and Prevention. On March 17, 2020, the State Health 

Commissioner and I issued Order of Public Health 

Emergency One (Health Order No. 1), later amended, which 

limited restaurants, fitness centers, and theaters to 10 or fewer 

patrons.  

On March 23, 2020, I issued Executive Order 53. That Order 

closed certain recreational and entertainment business, limited 

the operations of non-essential retail businesses, restaurants 

and dining establishments, and banned gatherings of more 

than 10 people. It also closed all K-12 schools for the 

remainder of the academic school year and urged Virginians 

to stay home except for essential travel. Executive Order 55, 

which was issued on March 30, 2020, established a temporary 

Stay at Home Order unless carrying out a necessary life 

function and continued limiting all in-person gatherings to 10 

people or fewer. It also ceased in-person instruction of less 

than 10 people at all institutions of higher education, 

restricted certain reservations at privately-owned 

campgrounds, and closed all public beaches except for 

exercising and fishing. 

The objective of these actions was to slow the spread of this 

virulent and deadly disease. These extreme measures were 

necessary to save lives. By issuing the Stay at Home Order, 

encouraging physical distancing and teleworking, restricting 

businesses and gatherings, we lowered transmission rates. 

These measures also prevented our healthcare systems from 

being overwhelmed—affording our healthcare systems and 

healthcare providers time to acquire the tools and resources 

necessary to respond to the virus. Equally as important, these 

measures were also necessary to prepare Virginians for the 

new normal of living and working in the midst of a pandemic.  

Now, we must set the path forward. While Virginia's efforts 

and sacrifices seem to have slowed the spread of the virus, we 

know it is still present. It is critical that as we begin to ease 

some of the restrictions in the next phase of our response, we 

remain vigilant, cautious, and measured. We cannot race back 

to the lives we led before the pandemic. The path forward 

will not be business as usual. We must remember to continue 

to practice physical distancing, to continue teleworking, 

whenever possible, to wash our hands frequently, to not touch 

our faces, and to wear face covering whenever possible. 

These measures, as well as the ones outlined below, are 

meant to make necessary ventures outside of your home safer, 

but everyone, especially those who may be more vulnerable 

to the virus, must understand we are all safer at home. 

Directive  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by 

Article V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of 

the Code of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in 

furtherance of Executive Order 51, and by virtue of the 

authority vested in the State Health Commissioner pursuant to 

§§ 32.1-13, 32.1-20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following is ordered:  

A. EASING OF BUSINESS RESTRICTIONS  

1. All Businesses  

Any businesses, not listed in this section, should adhere to 

the Guidelines for All Business Sectors expressly 

incorporated by reference herein as best practices. This 

guidance is located here.  

2. Restaurants, Dining Establishments, Food Courts, 

Breweries, Microbreweries, Distilleries, Wineries, and 

Tasting Rooms  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, restaurants, 

dining establishments, food courts, breweries, 

microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, and tasting rooms 

may operate delivery, take-out, and outdoor dining and 

beverage services only, provided such businesses comply 

with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors, and sector-

specific guidance for restaurant and beverage services 



Governor 

Volume 36, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 8, 2020 

2312 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy may not exceed the 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy, if 

applicable.  

b. No more than 10 patrons may be seated as a party.  

c. Tables at which dining parties are seated must be 

positioned six feet apart from other tables. If tables are not 

movable, parties must be seated at least six feet apart.  

d. No self-service of food (except beverages), including 

condiments. Condiments should be removed from tables 

and dispensed by employees upon the request of a 

customer. Buffets must be staffed by servers. For self-

service beverage areas, use beverage equipment designed 

to dispense by a contamination-free method.  

e. Bar seats and congregating areas of restaurants must be 

closed to patrons except for through-traffic. Non-bar 

seating in an outdoor bar area may be used for customer 

seating as long as a minimum of six feet is provided 

between parties at tables.  

f. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

g. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently 

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes 

during operation. Tabletops, chairs, and credit card/bill 

folders must be cleaned in between patrons.  

h. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

3. Farmers Markets  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, farmers 

markets may reopen, provided such businesses comply 

with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-

specific guidelines for farmers markets incorporated by 

reference herein. Such guidance includes, but is not limited 

to, the following requirements:  

a. On-site shopping is allowed, as long as physical 

distancing guidelines are followed. Configure operations to 

avoid congestion or congregation points.  

b. Employees and vendors in customer-facing areas must 

wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. Vendors must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons and employees.  

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently 

contacted surfaces must be conducted.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

4. Brick And Mortar Retail Businesses Not Listed In 

Section C, Paragraph 1 (Non-Essential Retail)  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, any brick and 

mortar retail business not listed in section C, paragraph 1 

may continue to operate, provided such businesses comply 

with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-

specific guidance for brick and mortar retail expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy must be limited to no more than 50% of the 

lowest occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy.  

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

5. Fitness and Exercise Facilities  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, fitness centers, 

gymnasiums, recreation centers, sports facilities, and 

exercise facilities may reopen for outdoor activities only. 

Indoor activities are prohibited. Outdoor activities may be 

conducted provided such businesses comply with the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines for fitness and exercise facilities expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Patrons, members, and guests must remain at least ten 

feet apart during all activities.  

b. Hot tubs, spas, splash pads, spray pools, and interactive 

play features must be closed.  

c. Outdoor swimming pools may be open for lap swimming 

only and must be limited to one person per lane.  

d. Employees working in customer-facing areas are 

required to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth 

at all times.  

e. Employers must ensure cleaning and disinfection of 

shared equipment after each use.  

f. Facilities shall prohibit the use of any equipment that 

cannot be thoroughly disinfected between uses (e.g., 

climbing rope, exercise bands, etc.).  

g. Businesses must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons, members, and guests.  

h. All group outdoor activities may not have more than 10 

guests, patrons, or members.  

i. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

6. Personal Care and Personal Grooming Services  
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Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, beauty salons, 

barbershops, spas, massage centers, tanning salons, tattoo 

shops, and any other location where personal care or 

personal grooming services are performed may reopen, 

provided such businesses comply with the Guidelines for 

All Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

personal care and personal grooming services expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy may not exceed 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy with at least 

six feet of physical distancing between work stations and 

only one appointment per service provider at a time.  

b. Service providers and employees working in customer-

facing areas must wear face coverings over their nose and 

mouth at all times.  

c. Provide face coverings for clients or ask that clients 

bring a face covering with them, which they must wear 

during the service. Limit services to only those that can be 

completed without clients removing their face covering.  

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes in 

operations, while cleaning and disinfecting all personal 

care and personal grooming tools after each use. If that is 

not possible such items must be discarded.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

7. Campgrounds  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, privately-

owned campgrounds, as defined in § 35.1-1 of the Code of 

Virginia may reopen, provided they comply with the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines for campgrounds, which are expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, 

but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. A minimum of 20 feet must be maintained between units 

for all lots rented for short-term stays of less than 14 nights 

(and not owned by individuals).  

b. Employees working in public-facing areas are required 

to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all 

times.  

c. It is recommended that campgrounds must strongly 

encourage customers to wear face coverings over their nose 

and mouth.  

d. The provision of hand washing in bath houses and 

sanitizing stations for guests and employees.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close.  

8. Indoor Shooting Ranges  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, indoor 

shooting ranges may reopen, provided they comply with 

the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy must be limited to 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy with at least 

six feet of physical distancing between individuals at all 

times. Use every other lane to achieve six feet of physical 

distancing.  

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas are 

required to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth 

at all times.  

c. Perform thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently 

contacted surfaces every 60 minutes in operation, while 

disinfecting all equipment between each customer use and 

prohibiting the use of equipment that cannot be thoroughly 

disinfected.  

d. Either thoroughly clean shared or borrowed equipment in 

between uses, or only allow the use of personal equipment 

at the range.  

e. It is recommended that facilities strongly encourage 

patrons, members, and guests to wear face coverings over 

their nose and mouth while in the facility.  

f. If any such indoor shooting range cannot adhere to these 

requirements, it must close.  

9. Enforcement  

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines appear here. The Virginia Department of Health 

shall have authority to enforce section A of this Order. Any 

willful violation or refusal, failure, or neglect to comply 

with this Order, issued pursuant to § 32.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant 

to § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. The State Health 

Commissioner may also seek injunctive relief in circuit 

court for violation of this Order, pursuant to § 32.1-27 of 

the Code of Virginia. In addition, any agency with 

regulatory authority over a business listed in section A may 

enforce this Order as to that business to the extent 

permitted by law. 

B. CONTINUED RESTRICTIONS  

1. Certain Recreational and Entertainment Businesses  

All public access to recreational and entertainment 

businesses set forth below shall remain closed:  

a. Theaters, performing arts centers, concert venues, 

museums, and other indoor entertainment centers;  

b. Racetracks and historic horse racing facilities; and  

c. Bowling alleys, skating rinks, arcades, amusement parks, 

trampoline parks, fairs, arts and craft facilities, aquariums, 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
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zoos, escape rooms, public and private social clubs, and all 

other places of indoor public amusement.  

2. All Public And Private In-Person Gatherings  

All public and private in-person gatherings of more than 10 

individuals are prohibited. The presence of more than 10 

individuals performing functions of their employment is 

not a "gathering." A "gathering" includes, but is not limited 

to, parties, celebrations, or other social events, whether 

they occur indoors or outdoors.  

This restriction does not apply to the gathering of family 

members living in the same residence. "Family members" 

include blood relations, adopted, step, and foster relations, 

as well as all individuals residing in the same household. 

Family members are not required to maintain physical 

distancing while in their homes.  

a. Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 2020, individuals 

may attend religious services subject to the following 

requirements:  

i. Religious services must be limited to no more than 50% 

of the lowest occupancy load on the certificate of 

occupancy of the room or facility in which the religious 

services are conducted.  

ii. Individuals attending religious services must be at least 

six feet apart when seated and must practice proper 

physical distancing at all times. Family members, as 

defined above, may be seated together.  

iii. Mark seating in six-foot increments and in common 

areas where attendees may congregate.  

iv. Persons attending religious services must strongly 

consider wearing face coverings over their nose and mouth 

at all times.  

v. No items can be passed to or between attendees, who are 

not family members, as defined above.  

vi. Any items used to distribute food or beverages must be 

disposable, used only once, and discarded.  

vii. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently 

contacted surfaces must be conducted prior to and 

following any religious service.  

viii. Post signage at the entrance that states that no one with 

a fever or symptoms of COVID-19 is permitted in the 

establishment.  

ix. Post signage to provide public health reminders 

regarding social distancing, gatherings, options for high 

risk individuals, and staying home if sick.  

x. If religious services cannot be conducted in compliance 

with the above requirements, they must not be held in-

person.  

Further, any social gathering held in connection with a 

religious service is subject to the public and private in-

person gatherings restriction in section B, paragraph 2. 

Additional suggested guidance can be found here.  

3. K-12 Schools  

K-12 schools, public and private, will continue to be closed 

for in-person instruction for the remainder of the 2019-

2020 school year. Those facilities providing child care 

services may remain open.  

4. Institutions of Higher Education  

Institutions of higher education shall continue to cease all 

in-person classes and instruction, and cancel all gatherings 

of more than ten individuals. For purposes of facilitating 

remote learning, performing critical research, or 

performing essential functions, institutions of higher 

education may continue to operate, provided that social 

distancing requirements are maintained.  

5. Public Beaches  

With the exception of the City of Virginia Beach, the 

continued closure of all public beaches as defined in 

§ 10.1-705 of the Code of Virginia for all activity, except 

exercising and fishing. Physical distancing requirements 

must be followed.  

Effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 21, 2020, and provided 

activities on the public beaches are conducted in 

compliance with the requirements linked here and here, the 

City of Virginia Beach may open its beaches to individual 

and family recreational activity, in addition to exercise and 

fishing.  

6. Overnight Summer Camps  

Overnight services of summer camps, as defined in § 35.1-

1 of the Code of Virginia, must cease.  

7. Enforcement  

Violations of section B paragraphs 1, 2, 4, 5 (with the 

exception of the City of Virginia Beach), and 6 of this 

Order shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. CONTINUED GUIDANCE AND DIRECTION 

1. Essential Retail Businesses  

Essential retail businesses as set out below may remain 

open during their normal business hours. They should 

comply with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors 

expressly incorporated by reference and linked here, as best 

practices. Employers are required to provide face coverings 

to employees.  

a. Grocery stores, pharmacies, and other retailers that sell 

food and beverage products or pharmacy products, 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Religious-Services-Guidelines.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/5-16-20-Virginia-Beach-COVID-19-Phase-1-Beach-Operating-Procedures--VB-Plan.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
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including dollar stores, and department stores with grocery 

or pharmacy operations;  

b. Medical, laboratory, and vision supply retailers;  

c. Electronic retailers that sell or service cell phones, 

computers, tablets, and other communications technology;  

d. Automotive parts, accessories, and tire retailers as well 

as automotive repair facilities;  

e. Home improvement, hardware, building material, and 

building supply retailers;  

f. Lawn and garden equipment retailers;  

g. Beer, wine, and liquor stores;  

h. Retail functions of gas stations and convenience stores;  

i. Retail located within healthcare facilities;  

j. Banks and other financial institutions with retail 

functions;  

k. Pet and feed stores;  

l. Printing and office supply stores; and  

m. Laundromats and dry cleaners.  

2. State Agencies  

All relevant state agencies shall continue to work with all 

housing partners to execute strategies to protect the health, 

safety, and well-being of Virginians experiencing 

homelessness during this pandemic and to assist Virginians 

in avoiding evictions or foreclosures.  

3. Face Coverings 

The waiver of § 18.2-422 of the Code of Virginia is 

continued, so as to allow the wearing of a medical mask, 

respirator, or any other protective face covering for the 

purpose of facilitating the protection of one's personal 

health in response to the COVID-19 public health 

emergency declared by the State Health Commissioner on 

February 7, 2020, and reflected in Executive Order 51 

declaring a state of emergency in the Commonwealth. 

Executive Order 51 remains so amended. This waiver is 

effective as of March 12, 2020.  

4. Large State Events  

Continued cancellation of all specially-scheduled state 

conferences and large events.  

5. State Travel  

Continued cessation of all official travel outside of Virginia 

by state employees, with increased flexibility for inter-state 

commuters and essential personnel.  

6. Exceptions  

Nothing in the Order shall limit: (a) the provision of health 

care or medical services; (b) access to essential services for 

low-income residents, such as food banks; (c) the 

operations of the media; (d) law enforcement agencies; or 

(e) the operation of government.  

7. Expiration of Order  

Amended Order of the Governor and State Health 

Commissioner Declaration of Public Health Emergency, 

Order of Public Health Emergency One shall expire at 

11:59 p.m., on May 14, 2020. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Order shall be effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 

2020. This Order further amends Executive Order 55 (2020). 

Unless otherwise expressly provided herein, this Executive 

Order shall remain in full force and effect until 11:59 p.m., 

Wednesday, June 10, 2020, unless amended or rescinded by 

further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, this 19th day of May, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-TWO (2020) 

AND ORDER OF PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY FOUR  

Jurisdictions Temporarily Delayed From Entering 
Phase One in Executive Order 61 and Permitted to 

Remain in Phase Zero 
NORTHERN VIRGINIA REGION  

Importance of the Issue 

Executive Order 61, issued on May 8, 2020, and effective at 

12:00 a.m., May 15, 2020, eased certain restrictions imposed 

under Second Amended Executive Order 53 and Executive 

Order 55 (both Orders are collectively referred to as Phase 

Zero). Executive Order 61 sets out the Commonwealth of 

Virginia's path into Phase One. The easing of the Phase Zero 

restrictions was premised, in part, on the Commonwealth's 

achievement of certain metrics in responding to the novel 

coronavirus (COVID-19). The easing of those restrictions is 

meant to be a floor, and not a ceiling. As previously 

acknowledged, some regions may need to move into Phase 

One more slowly than the rest of the Commonwealth. Prior to 

issuing Executive Order 61, I advised that any locality 

unready to move into Phase One, upon my review and 

approval of their request to remain in Phase Zero, could do 

so.  

On May 9, 2020, local officials from the Counties of 

Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William, and the 
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Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, 

Manassas Park, as well as the Towns of Dumfries, Herndon, 

Leesburg, and Vienna (Northern Virginia Region) requested 

to remain in Phase Zero. Data provided in connection with 

that request reveals that with respect to hospitalizations, 

percent positivity, and case numbers, the Northern Virginia 

Region faces unique challenges when compared to the rest of 

the Commonwealth. The Northern Virginia Region is 

substantially higher than the rest of the Commonwealth in 

percentage of positive tests for COVID-19. The Northern 

Virginia Region has about a 25% positivity rate, while the 

rest of the Commonwealth is closer to 10%. Further, in the 

last 24 hours, the Northern Virginia Region reported over 700 

cases, while the rest of the Commonwealth reported 

approximately 270. On any given day, 70% of the 

Commonwealth's positive cases are attributable to the 

Northern Virginia Region. 

In addition, while personal protective equipment (PPE) for 

hospitals appears to be adequate at this time, the Northern 

Virginia Region asserts PPE for outpatient facilities continues 

to be a challenge. Similarly, although the number of deaths in 

the Northern Virginia Region appear to be trending 

downward, COVID-19 patients in the Northern Virginia 

Region make up a significantly larger portion of the region's 

hospital bed capacity, when compared to COVID 

hospitalizations in the rest of the Commonwealth. 

Consequently, after considering the Northern Virginia 

Region's request and the relevant data, I find the request to 

delay entering Phase One and to remain in Phase Zero 

appropriate.  

Directive  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of the Code 

of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in furtherance of 

Executive Order 51, and by virtue of the authority vested in 

the State Health Commissioner pursuant to §§ 32.1-13, 32.1-

20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, I grant the Northern 

Virginia Region's request to remain in Phase Zero. 

Accordingly, as to the Northern Virginia Region, the 

following measures are extended effective 12:00 a.m. Friday, 

May 15, 2020:  

1. Continued closure of all dining and congregation areas in 

restaurants, dining establishments, food courts, breweries, 

microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, tasting rooms, and 

farmers markets. Restaurants, dining establishments, food 

courts, breweries, microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, 

tasting rooms, and farmers markets may continue to offer 

delivery and take-out services.  

2. Continued closure of all public access to recreational and 

entertainment businesses, as set forth below:  

a. Theaters, performing arts centers, concert venues, 

museums, and other indoor entertainment centers;  

b. Fitness centers, gymnasiums, recreation centers, indoor 

sports facilities, and indoor exercise facilities;  

c. Beauty salons, barbershops, spas, massage parlors, 

tanning salons, tattoo shops, and any other location where 

personal care or personal grooming services are performed 

that would not allow compliance with physical distancing 

guidelines to remain six feet apart;  

d. Racetracks and historic horse racing facilities; and  

e. Bowling alleys, skating rinks, arcades, amusement parks, 

trampoline parks, fairs, arts and craft facilities, aquariums, 

zoos, escape rooms, indoor shooting ranges, public and 

private social clubs, and all other places of indoor public 

amusement.  

3. Essential retail businesses may remain open during their 

normal business hours. Such businesses are:  

a. Grocery stores, pharmacies, and other retailers that sell 

food and beverage products or pharmacy products, 

including dollar stores, and department stores with grocery 

or pharmacy operations;  

b. Medical, laboratory, and vision supply retailers;  

c. Electronic retailers that sell or service cell phones, 

computers, tablets, and other communications technology;  

d. Automotive parts, accessories, and tire retailers as well 

as automotive repair facilities;  

e. Home improvement, hardware, building material, and 

building supply retailers;  

f. Lawn and garden equipment retailers;  

g. Beer, wine, and liquor stores;  

h. Retail functions of gas stations and convenience stores;  

i. Retail located within healthcare facilities;  

j. Banks and other financial institutions with retail 

functions;  

k. Pet and feed stores;  

l. Printing and office supply stores; and  

m. Laundromats and dry cleaners.  

Employers are required to provide face coverings to 

employees.  

4. Any brick and mortar retail business not listed in 

paragraph 3 may continue to operate but must limit all in-

person shopping to no more than 10 patrons per 

establishment. If any such business cannot adhere to the 10 

patron limit with proper physical distancing requirements, 

it must close. Brick and mortar retail business not listed in 

paragraph 3 are encouraged to follow the Guidelines for All 

Business Sectors as best practices linked here.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
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5. All businesses are encouraged to follow the Guidelines 

for All Business Sectors as best practices linked here and 

other appropriate workplace guidance from state and 

federal authorities while in operation.  

6. Although business operations offering professional 

rather than retail services may remain open, they should 

utilize teleworking as much as possible. Where telework is 

not feasible, such business must adhere to physical 

distancing recommendations, enhanced sanitizing practices 

on common surfaces, and apply the relevant workplace 

guidance from state and federal authorities.  

7. All individuals in Northern Virginia Region shall remain 

at their place of residence, except as provided below by this 

Order. To the extent individuals use shared or outdoor 

spaces, whether on land or on water, they must at all times 

maintain physical distancing of at least six feet from any 

other person, with the exception of family members, as 

defined below, or caretakers. Individuals may leave their 

residences for the purpose of:  

a. Obtaining food, beverages, goods, or services as 

permitted in this Order;  

b. Seeking medical attention, essential social services, 

governmental services, assistance from law enforcement, or 

emergency services;  

c. Taking care of other individuals, animals, or visiting the 

home of a family member;  

d. Traveling required by court order or to facilitate child 

custody, visitation, or child care;  

e. Engaging in outdoor activity, including exercise, 

provided individuals comply with physical distancing 

requirements;  

f. Traveling to and from one's residence, place of worship, 

or work;  

g. Traveling to and from an educational institution;  

h. Volunteering with organizations that provide charitable 

or social services; and  

i. Leaving one's residence due to a reasonable fear for 

health or safety, at the direction of law enforcement, or at 

the direction of another government agency.  

8. All public and private in-person gatherings of more than 

10 individuals are prohibited. The presence of more than 10 

individuals performing functions of their employment is 

not a "gathering." A "gathering" includes, but is not limed 

to, parties, celebrations, or other social events, whether 

they occur indoors or outdoors. This restriction does not 

apply to the gathering of family members living in the 

same residence. "Family members" include blood relations, 

adopted, step, and foster relations, as well as all individuals 

residing in the same household. Family members are not 

required to maintain physical distancing while in their 

homes.  

9. Continued cessation of all in-person instruction at K-12 

schools, public and private, for the remainder of the 2019-

2020 school year. Facilities providing child care services 

may remain open.  

10. Institutions of higher education shall continue to cease 

all in-person classes and instruction, and cancel all 

gatherings of more than ten individuals. For purposes of 

facilitating remote learning, performing critical research, or 

performing essential functions, institutions of higher 

education may continue to operate, provided that physical 

distancing requirements are maintained.  

11. Continued cessation of all reservations for overnight 

stays of less than 14 nights at all privately-owned 

campgrounds, as defined in § 35.1-1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

12. Continued closure of all public beaches as defined in 

§ 10.1-705 of the Code of Virginia for all activity, except 

exercising and fishing. Physical distancing requirements 

must be followed.  

13. Nothing in this Order shall limit: (a) the provision of 

health care or medical services; (b) access to essential 

services for low-income residents, such as food banks; (c) 

the operations of the media; (d) law enforcement agencies; 

or (e) the operation of government.  

14. The continued waiver of § 18.2-422 of the Code of 

Virginia so as to allow the wearing of a medical mask, 

respirator, or any other protective face covering for the 

purpose of facilitating the protection of one's personal 

health in response to the COVID-19 public health 

emergency declared by the State Health Commissioner on 

February 7, 2020, and reflected in Executive Order 51 

declaring a state of emergency in the Commonwealth. 

Executive Order 51 is so further amended. This waiver is 

effective as of March 12, 2020.  

Violation of paragraphs 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 11, 12 of this Order 

shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to § 44-146.17 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

The Northern Virginia Region's entrance into Phase One 

will be delayed and the restrictions above shall remain in 

place until 11:59 p.m., May 28, 2020. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Order shall be effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 

2020, and further amends Executive Order 55. Unless 

otherwise expressly provided herein, this Order shall remain 

in full force and effect until 11:59 p.m., Thursday, May 28, 

2020, unless amended or rescinded by further executive 

order.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
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Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, this 12th day of May, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-TWO (2020) 

AND AMENDED ORDER OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

EMERGENCY FOUR  

Jurisdictions Temporarily Delayed From Entering 
Phase One in Executive Order 61 and Permitted to 

Remain in Phase Zero  
Phase Zero Jurisdictions  

Importance of the Issue 

Executive Order 61, issued on May 8, 2020, and effective at 

12:00 a.m., May 15, 2020, eased certain restrictions imposed 

under Second Amended Executive Order 53 and Executive 

Order 55 (both Orders are collectively referred to as Phase 

Zero). Executive Order 61 sets out the Commonwealth of 

Virginia's path into Phase One. The easing of the Phase Zero 

restrictions was premised, in part, on the Commonwealth's 

achievement of certain metrics in responding to the novel 

coronavirus (COVID-19). The easing of those restrictions is 

meant to be a floor, and not a ceiling. As previously 

acknowledged, some regions may need to move into Phase 

One more slowly than the rest of the Commonwealth. Prior to 

issuing Executive Order 61, I advised that any locality 

unready to move into Phase One, upon my review and 

approval of their request to remain in Phase Zero, could do 

so.  

On May 9, 2020, local officials from the Counties of 

Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William, and the 

Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, 

Manassas Park, as well as the Towns of Dumfries, Herndon, 

Leesburg, and Vienna (Northern Virginia Region) requested 

to remain in Phase Zero. Data provided in connection with 

that request reveals that with respect to hospitalizations, 

percent positivity, and case numbers, the Northern Virginia 

Region faces unique challenges when compared to the rest of 

the Commonwealth. The Northern Virginia Region is 

substantially higher than the rest of the Commonwealth in 

percentage of positive tests for COVID-19. The Northern 

Virginia Region has about a 25% positivity rate, while the 

rest of the Commonwealth is closer to 10%. Further, in the 

last 24 hours, the Northern Virginia Region reported over 700 

cases, while the rest of the Commonwealth reported 

approximately 270. On any given day, 70% of the 

Commonwealth's positive cases are attributable to the 

Northern Virginia Region. 

In addition, while personal protective equipment (PPE) for 

hospitals appears to be adequate at this time, the Northern 

Virginia Region asserts PPE for outpatient facilities continues 

to be a challenge. Similarly, although the number of deaths in 

the Northern Virginia Region appear to be trending 

downward, COVID-19 patients in the Northern Virginia 

Region make up a significantly larger portion of the region's 

hospital bed capacity, when compared to COVID-19 

hospitalizations in the rest of the Commonwealth. 

Consequently, after considering the Northern Virginia 

Region's request and the relevant data, I find the request to 

delay entering Phase One and to remain in Phase Zero 

appropriate.  

On May 14, 2020, the City of Richmond and the County of 

Accomack requested to delay implementation of Phase One. 

Unlike many jurisdictions in the Commonwealth, the City of 

Richmond's percent positivity of COVID-19 cases has failed 

to decrease over the past two weeks. Further, its total case 

count grew. Although Accomack's population is .39% of the 

Commonwealth, its positive cases represent 2.14% of the 

statewide totals. Similarly, the number of COVID-19 cases in 

the County of Accomack continues to increase. Local health 

officials opine that the County of Accomack's total positive 

cases could increase by over fifty percent in a matter of days. 

After considering the City of Richmond's and the County of 

Accomack's requests and the relevant data, I find the requests 

to delay entering Phase One and to remain in Phase Zero 

appropriate.  

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of the Code 

of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in furtherance of 

Executive Order 51, and by virtue of the authority vested in 

the State Health Commissioner pursuant to §§ 32.1-13, 32.1-

20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, I grant the Northern 

Virginia Region's, the City of Richmond's, and the County of 

Accomack's requests to remain in Phase Zero. Accordingly, 

as to the Northern Virginia Region, the City of Richmond, 

and the County of Accomack, including all towns and 

political subdivisions contained therein (collectively, Phase 

Zero Jurisdictions), the following measures are extended 

effective 12:00 a.m. Friday, May 15, 2020:  

1. Continued closure of all dining and congregation areas in 

restaurants, dining establishments, food courts, breweries, 

microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, tasting rooms, and 

farmers markets. Restaurants, dining establishments, food 

courts, breweries, microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, 

tasting rooms, and farmers markets may continue to offer 

delivery and take-out services.  

2. Continued closure of all public access to recreational and 

entertainment businesses, as set forth below:  

a. Theaters, performing arts centers, concert venues, 

museums, and other indoor entertainment centers;  
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b. Fitness centers, gymnasiums, recreation centers, indoor 

sports facilities, and indoor exercise facilities;  

c. Beauty salons, barbershops, spas, massage parlors, 

tanning salons, tattoo shops, and any other location where 

personal care or personal grooming services are performed 

that would not allow compliance with physical distancing 

guidelines to remain six feet apart;  

d. Racetracks and historic horse racing facilities; and  

e. Bowling alleys, skating rinks, arcades, amusement parks, 

trampoline parks, fairs, arts and craft facilities, aquariums, 

zoos, escape rooms, indoor shooting ranges, public and 

private social clubs, and all other places of indoor public 

amusement.  

3. Essential retail businesses may remain open during their 

normal business hours. Such businesses are:  

a. Grocery stores, pharmacies, and other retailers that sell 

food and beverage products or pharmacy products, 

including dollar stores, and department stores with grocery 

or pharmacy operations;  

b. Medical, laboratory, and vision supply retailers;  

c. Electronic retailers that sell or service cell phones, 

computers, tablets, and other communications technology;  

d. Automotive parts, accessories, and tire retailers as well 

as automotive repair facilities;  

e. Home improvement, hardware, building material, and 

building supply retailers;  

f. Lawn and garden equipment retailers;  

g. Beer, wine, and liquor stores;  

h. Retail functions of gas stations and convenience stores;  

i. Retail located within healthcare facilities;  

j. Banks and other financial institutions with retail 

functions;  

k. Pet and feed stores;  

l. Printing and office supply stores; and  

m. Laundromats and dry cleaners.  

Employers are required to provide face coverings to 

employees.  

4. Any brick and mortar retail business not listed in 

paragraph 3 may continue to operate but must limit all in-

person shopping to no more than 10 patrons per 

establishment. If any such business cannot adhere to the 10 

patron limit with proper physical distancing requirements, 

it must close. Brick and mortar retail business not listed in 

paragraph 3 are encouraged to follow the Guidelines for All 

Business Sectors as best practices linked here.  

5. All businesses are encouraged to follow the Guidelines 

for All Business Sectors as best practices linked here and 

other appropriate workplace guidance from state and 

federal authorities while in operation.  

6. Although business operations offering professional 

rather than retail services may remain open, they should 

utilize teleworking as much as possible. Where telework is 

not feasible, such businesses must adhere to physical 

distancing recommendations, enhanced sanitizing practices 

on common surfaces, and apply the relevant workplace 

guidance from state and federal authorities.  

7. All individuals in Phase Zero Jurisdictions shall remain 

at their place of residence, except as provided below by this 

Order. To the extent individuals use shared or outdoor 

spaces, whether on land or on water, they must at all times 

maintain physical distancing of at least six feet from any 

other person, with the exception of family members, as 

defined below, or caretakers. Individuals may leave their 

residences for the purpose of:  

a. Obtaining food, beverages, goods, or services as 

permitted in this Order;  

b. Seeking medical attention, essential social services, 

governmental services, assistance from law enforcement, or 

emergency services;  

c. Taking care of other individuals, animals, or visiting the 

home of a family member;  

d. Traveling required by court order or to facilitate child 

custody, visitation, or child care;  

e. Engaging in outdoor activity, including exercise, 

provided individuals comply with physical distancing 

requirements;  

f. Traveling to and from one's residence, place of worship, 

or work;  

g. Traveling to and from an educational institution;  

h. Volunteering with organizations that provide charitable 

or social services; and  

i. Leaving one's residence due to a reasonable fear for 

health or safety, at the direction of law enforcement, or at 

the direction of another government agency.  

8. All public and private in-person gatherings of more than 

10 individuals are prohibited. The presence of more than 10 

individuals performing functions of their employment is 

not a "gathering." A "gathering" includes, but is not limed 

to, parties, celebrations, or other social events, whether 

they occur indoors or outdoors. This restriction does not 

apply to the gathering of family members living in the 

same residence. "Family members" include blood relations, 

adopted, step, and foster relations, as well as all individuals 

residing in the same household. Family members are not 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
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required to maintain physical distancing while in their 

homes.  

9. Continued cessation of all in-person instruction at K-12 

schools, public and private, for the remainder of the 2019-

2020 school year. Facilities providing child care services 

may remain open.  

10. Institutions of higher education shall continue to cease 

all in-person classes and instruction, and cancel all 

gatherings of more than ten individuals. For purposes of 

facilitating remote learning, performing critical research, or 

performing essential functions, institutions of higher 

education may continue to operate, provided that physical 

distancing requirements are maintained.  

11. Continued cessation of all reservations for overnight 

stays of less than 14 nights at all privately-owned 

campgrounds, as defined in § 35.1-1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

12. Continued closure of all public beaches as defined in 

§ 10.1-705 of the Code of Virginia for all activity, except 

exercising and fishing. Physical distancing requirements 

must be followed.  

13. Nothing in this Order shall limit: (a) the provision of 

health care or medical services; (b) access to essential 

services for low-income residents, such as food banks; (c) 

the operations of the media; (d) law enforcement agencies; 

or (e) the operation of government.  

14. The continued waiver of § 18.2-422 of the Code of 

Virginia so as to allow the wearing of a medical mask, 

respirator, or any other protective face covering for the 

purpose of facilitating the protection of one's personal 

health in response to the COVID-19 public health 

emergency declared by the State Health Commissioner on 

February 7, 2020, and reflected in Executive Order 51 

declaring a state of emergency in the Commonwealth. 

Executive Order 51 is so further amended. This waiver is 

effective as of March 12, 2020.  

Violation of paragraphs 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 11, 12 of this Order 

shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to § 44-146.17 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

The Phase Zero Jurisdictions' entrance into Phase One will be 

delayed and the restrictions above shall remain in place until 

11:59 p.m., May 28, 2020.  

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Order shall be effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 15, 

2020, and further amends Executive Order 55. Unless 

otherwise expressly provided herein, this Order shall remain 

in full force and effect until 11:59 p.m., Thursday, May 28, 

2020, unless amended or rescinded by further executive 

order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, this 14th day of May, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-THREE (2020) 

AND ORDER OF PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY FIVE 

Requirement to Wear Face Covering While Inside 
Buildings 

Importance of the Issue 

The Commonwealth of Virginia continues to respond to the 

novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Measures 

undertaken over the last ten weeks have slowed the spread of 

the virus; however, its transmission continues to threaten our 

communities. We must remain vigilant. In fact, as we reopen 

Virginia, it is critical that we become even more vigilant. 

Studies of the virus show that a substantial number of 

individuals with coronavirus are asymptomatic. In addition, 

individuals who contract the virus may still transmit the virus 

to others before ever showing symptoms. Therefore, a person 

with no symptoms of the virus could spread it by speaking, 

coughing, or sneezing. As more people venture back to 

businesses, employees are put in a vulnerable position when 

patrons come in without a face covering. We must make sure 

workers are safe as they interact with customers. Science 

shows us that face coverings can help stop the spread of the 

virus. That is why the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention (CDC) recommends wearing cloth face coverings, 

even those made from household items or common materials 

in public settings. I strongly urge all Virginians to wear face 

coverings when leaving their homes. But as to indoor settings 

to which the public has access, mere encouragement is not 

enough to protect the health and safety of Virginians. 

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of the Code 

of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in furtherance of 

Amended Executive Order 51, and by virtue of the authority 

vested in the State Health Commissioner pursuant to §§ 32.1-

13, 32.1-20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following is ordered: 

A. Face Coverings Required-Patrons  

All patrons in the Commonwealth aged ten and over shall 

when entering, exiting, traveling through, and spending time 

inside the settings listed below cover their mouth and nose 

with a face covering, as described and recommended by the 

CDC:  

1. Personal care and personal grooming businesses, 

including but not limited to, beauty salons, barbershops, 
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spas, massage centers, tanning salons, tattoo shops, and any 

other location where personal care or personal grooming 

services are provided.  

2. All brick and mortar retail businesses, including both 

essential and non-essential brick and mortar retail 

businesses, as delineated in Amended Executive Order 61 

and Amended Order of Public Health Emergency Three 

(2020).  

3. Food and beverage establishments, including but not 

limited to, restaurants, dining establishments, food courts, 

breweries, microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, tasting 

rooms, and farmers markets, when permitted to reopen for 

indoor dining.  

4. Entertainment or recreation businesses, including but not 

limited to, racetracks, historic horse racing facilities, 

theaters, performing arts centers, concert venues, museums, 

and other indoor entertainment centers, bowling alleys, 

skating rinks, arcades, amusement parks, trampoline parks, 

fairs, arts and craft facilities, aquariums, zoos, escape 

rooms, public and private social clubs, and all other places 

of indoor public amusement, once permitted to reopen to 

the public. Face coverings shall also be required when 

patrons are outdoors at these businesses if a distance of six 

feet from every other person cannot be maintained.  

5. Train stations, bus stations, and intrastate public 

transportation, including buses, rideshares, trains, taxis, and 

cars for hire, as well as any waiting or congregating areas 

associated with boarding public transportation. This 

requirement shall not apply in any area under federal 

jurisdiction or control.  

6. Any other indoor place shared by groups of people who 

are in close proximity to each other. This restriction does 

not apply to persons while inside their residence or the 

personal residence of another. Face coverings may be 

removed to participate in a religious ritual.  

7. State or local government buildings when accessed for 

the purpose of securing public services, with the exception 

of students in daycare centers or participating in-person 

classes in K-12 education or institutions of higher 

education.  

B. Face Coverings Required-Employees of Essential Retail 

Businesses  

All employees of essential retail businesses as listed in 

Amended Executive Order 61 and Amended Order of Public 

Health Emergency Three (2020), section C, paragraph 1 shall 

wear a face covering whenever working in customer facing 

areas. Amended Executive Order 61 and Amended Order of 

Public Health Emergency Three (2020) is so further amended.  

C. Enforcement  

The Virginia Department of Health shall have authority to 

enforce this Order. Any willful violation or refusal, failure, or 

neglect to comply with this Order, issued pursuant to § 32.1-

13 of the Code of Virginia, is punishable as a Class 1 

misdemeanor pursuant to § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. 

The State Health Commissioner may also seek injunctive 

relief in circuit court for violation of this Order, pursuant to 

§ 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. No minor shall be subject 

to criminal penalty for failure to wear a face covering. Adults 

accompanying minors should use the adult’s best judgment 

with respect to placing face coverings on a minor between the 

ages of two through nine while inside the public areas noted 

above. Adults accompanying minors age 10 through 18 shall 

use reasonable efforts to prompt the minor to wear face 

coverings while inside the public areas noted above. 

Medical-grade masks and personal protective equipment 

should be reserved for medical personnel. The use of cloth 

face coverings does not replace the need to maintain six feet 

of physical social distancing, clean and disinfect frequently 

touched surfaces routinely in all public settings, stay home 

when sick, and practice frequent handwashing.  

D. Exceptions  

The requirement to wear a face covering does not apply to 

following:  

1. While eating or drinking;  

2. Individuals exercising or using exercise equipment;  

3. Any person who has trouble breathing, or is 

unconscious, incapacitated, or otherwise unable to remove 

the face covering without assistance;  

4. Any person seeking to communicate with the hearing 

impaired and for which the mouth needs to be visible;  

5. When temporary removal of the face covering is 

necessary to secure government or medical services; and  

6. Persons with health conditions that prohibit wearing a 

face covering. Nothing in this Order shall require the use of 

a face covering by any person for whom doing so would be 

contrary to his or her health or safety because of a medical 

condition.  

Any person who declines to wear a face covering because of a 

medical condition shall not be required to produce or carry 

medical documentation verifying the stated condition nor 

shall the person be required to identify the precise underlying 

medical condition. 

E. Department of Labor and Industry  

Except for paragraph B above, this Order does not apply to 

employees, employers, subcontractors, or other independent 

contractors in the workplace. The Commissioner of the 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry shall promulgate 
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emergency regulations and standards to control, prevent, and 

mitigate the spread of COVID-19 in the workplace. The 

regulations and standards adopted in accordance with 

§§ 40.1-22(6a) or 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia shall 

apply to every employer, employee, and place of employment 

within the jurisdiction of the Virginia Occupational Safety 

and Health program as described in 16 Va. Admin. Code 

§ 25-60-20 and Va. Admin. Code § 25-60-30. These 

regulations and standards must address personal protective 

equipment, respiratory protective equipment, and sanitation, 

access to employee exposure and medical records and hazard 

communication. Further, these regulations and standards may 

not conflict with requirements and guidelines applicable to 

businesses set out and incorporated into Amended Executive 

Order 61 and Amended Order of Public Health Emergency 

Three. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Order is in furtherance of Amended Executive Order 51 

(2020) and Amended Executive Order 61 and Amended 

Order of Public Health Emergency Three (2020). Further, this 

Order shall be effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, May 29, 2020, 

and shall remain in full force and effect until amended or 

rescinded by further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, this 26th day of May, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND  
REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

Title of Document: Division of Rehabilitative Services 

Purchasing Policies Chapter 14.1. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 8, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Leah Mills, Policy Analyst, Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 

Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 370-8770, or 

email leah.mills@dars.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: State Plan for Assistive Technology, 

Fiscal Years 2018-2020. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 8, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Advisor, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093, or email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Guidance for Risk Management. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 8, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 27, 2020. 

Agency Contact: John Cimino, Legal and Regulatory 

Coordinator, Office of Licensing, Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services, P.O. Box 1797, 

Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 298-3279, or 

email john.cimino@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Board of Education Guidelines and 

Standards of Learning for Virginia Public Schools: Family 

Life Education. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 8, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Samantha Hollins, Assistant 

Superintendent for Special Education and Student Services, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8079, or email 

samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov. 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 

Title of Document: Dealer Tag Liability Insurance 

Requirement. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 8, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2020. 

Agency Contact: William Childress, Executive Director, 

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 West Broad, Suite 104, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100 ext. 3002, 

or email william.childress@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: The Virginia Driver Improvement 

Program: Moving Violations and Point Assessments. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 8, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Manager, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/c055a006393~11.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/c055a006393~11.pdf
mailto:Leah.Mills@dars.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/8c6ed006393~2y.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/8c6ed006393~2y.pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/4693b006393~3t.pdf
mailto:john.cimino@dbhds.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/9150e006393~4n.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/9150e006393~4n.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/9150e006393~4n.pdf
mailto:samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/1ffc0006393~5t.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/1ffc0006393~5t.pdf
mailto:william.childress@mvdb.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/9bd20006393~6s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6393/9bd20006393~6s.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, MAY 18, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2019-00182 

Ex Parte: In the matter 

concerning the implementation 

of a pilot program for 

municipal net energy metering 

ORDER 

Chapters 746 and 747 of the 2019 Virginia Acts of Assembly 

(the "Act") amended the Code of Virginia by adding a new 

§ 56-585.1:8 to provide for a pilot program for municipal net 

energy metering in the service territories of Virginia Electric 

and Power Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia 

("Dominion") and Appalachian Power Company. The Act 

became effective July 1, 2019. 

The Act instructed the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission"), by December 1, 2019, to adopt such rules or 

establish such guidelines as may be necessary for its general 

administration of the pilot program. On November 1, 2019, 

the Commission issued an Order for Comments on Draft 

Guidelines, which included draft guidelines ("Proposed 

Guidelines") to govern the pilot programs required by the 

Act, and invited comments from interested parties on or 

before November 15, 2019. Comments were filed by several 

entities, and at least one commenter requested additional time 

to file suggested amendments to the Proposed Guidelines. 

Mindful of the December 1, 2019 statutory deadline, on 

November 25, 2019, the Commission entered an order 

adopting the Proposed Guidelines as of the date of that order, 

subject to modification following additional substantive 

comments by interested persons, to be filed on or before 

January 15, 2020. The Commission received additional 

comments from the VML/VACo APCo Steering Committee 

and Dominion. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, finds that it is appropriate to receive comments 

from the Commission Staff ("Staff"). We, therefore, direct the 

Staff to file a Staff Report in this docket analyzing the 

Proposed Guidelines and all substantive comments received 

thereon, including a discussion of any proposed amendments 

to the guidelines. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Staff shall analyze the substantive comments received 

in response to the Commission's Proposed Guidelines as set 

forth herein and present its findings in a Staff Report to be 

filed on or before July 31, 2020. 

(2) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Availability of and Public Comment on the 2020 
Water Quality Assessment Integrated Report 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

will release the Draft 2020 Water Quality Assessment 

Integrated Report (Integrated Report) on June 8, 2020, for 

public comment. 

The Integrated Report combines both the § 305(b) Water 

Quality Assessment and the § 303(d) Report on Impaired 

Waters. Both are required by the Federal Clean Water Act 

and the Virginia Water Quality Monitoring Information and 

Restoration Act. The report will be available for download on 

the department's website at 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInfo

rmationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments.aspx throughout the 

public comment period, which will end July 9, 2020.  

A public webinar summarizing the Integrated Report is 

scheduled for June 24, 2020. The public is invited to submit 

questions pertaining to the report during this event. All 

submitted questions will be addressed in a "FAQ" document 

that will be subsequently posted on the DEQ webpage. 

Registration information for the webinar can be found at 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6736552019723263503. 

Written comments on the draft Integrated Report can be sent 

to Sandra Mueller, Office of Water Monitoring and 

Assessment, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, by telephone (804) 698-4324, or 

by email to sandra.mueller@deq.virginia.gov. Comments 

should include the commenter's name, postal address, 

telephone number, and email address. 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

Schedule for the Assessment of State and Federal 
Mandates on Local Governments 

Pursuant to the provisions of §§ 2.2-613 and 15.2-2903 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following schedule, established by the 

Commission on Local Government and approved by 

Secretary of Commerce and Trade R. Brian Ball and 

Governor Ralph S. Northam, represents the timetable that the 

listed executive agencies will follow in conducting their 

assessments of certain state and federal mandates that they 

administer that are imposed on local governments. Such 

mandates are new (in effect for at least 24 months), newly 

identified, or have been significantly altered as to warrant a 

reassessment of the mandate (and have been in effect for 24 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments.aspx
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments.aspx
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6736552019723263503
mailto:sandra.mueller@deq.virginia.gov
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months). In conducting these assessments, agencies will 

follow the process established by Executive Order 58, which 

became effective October 11, 2007. These mandates are 

abstracted in the Catalog of State and Federal Mandates on 

Local Governments published by the Commission on Local 

Government. 

For further information, contact Kristen Dahlman, Senior 

Policy Analyst, Commission on Local Government, email 

kristen.dahlman@dhcd.virginia.gov, or telephone (804) 371-

7017, or visit the commission's website at 

www.dhcd.virginia.gov. 

STATE AND FEDERAL MANDATES ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Approved Schedule of Assessment Periods – July 2020 through June 2021 

For Executive Agency Assessment of Cataloged Mandates 

AGENCY CATALOG ASSESSMENT 

Mandate Short Title NUMBER PERIOD 

AVIATION, DEPARTMENT OF   

Airport Sponsor Financial Reporting STO.DOAV009 7/1/2020 to 8/1/2020 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF   

Completion of Firearm Training by School Security Officers SPSHS.DCJS037 10/1/2020 to 12/31/2020 

Victims of Crime Act New Initiative Victim Assistance Grant Program SPSHS.DCJS038 10/1/2020 to 12/31/2020 

EDUCATION, DEPARTMENT OF    

Suspension, Expulsion, Exclusion, and Readmission of Pupils SOE.DOE097 8/1/2020 to 10/31/2020 

College and Career Preparation Planning and Programs SOE.DOE138 8/1/2020 to 10/31/2020 

Teacher Misconduct and License Revocation SOE.DOE154 8/1/2020 to 10/31/2020 

School Security Officers SOE.DOE156 8/1/2020 to 10/31/2020 

Abusive Work Environment Policies SOE.DOE158 8/1/2020 to 10/31/2020 

Open Enrollment for Military Students SOE.DOE159 8/1/2020 to 10/31/2020 

Virginia Kindergarten Readiness Assessment SOE.DOE160 8/1/2020 to 10/31/2020 

GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES, DEPARTMENT OF    

Localities Electing into Urban Archery Season SNR.DGIF010 7/1/2020 to 8/31/2020 

HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT, DEPARTMENT OF   

Virginia Growth and Opportunity Act and Fund SCT.DHCD023 7/1/2020 to 9/30/2020 

MOTOR VEHICLES, DEPARTMENT OF   

Notice to Commissioner of Motor Vehicles Upon Seizure of Vehicles STO.DMV006 8/1/2020 to 10/31/2020 

Special License Plates for Professional or Volunteer Firefighters and 

Members of Volunteer Fire Department Auxiliaries 

STO.DMV007 8/1/2020 to 10/31/2020 

RAIL AND PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF   

Urban Transit Agency Strategic Plans STO.DRPT022 7/1/2020 to 9/30/2020 

SOCIAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF   

Child Protective Services SHHR.DSS031 1/1/2021 to 4/30/2021 

Foster Care Services SHHR.DSS032 1/1/2021 to 4/30/2021 

Approved by the Commission on March 12, 2020 

mailto:kristen.dahlman@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 

Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) 

Avoidable Emergency Room Claims and Hospital 
Readmissions 

Comment period: May 20, 2020, through June 19, 2020. 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital Services 

(12VAC30-70) and Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates - Other Types of Care (12VAC30-80).  

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act. A 

copy of this notice is available for public review from Emily 

McClellan, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, or via 

email at emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Emily McClellan and such comments 

are available for review at the address provided. Comments 

may also be submitted, in writing, on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall public comment forum at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov, on the General Notices page 

at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Inpatient Hospital 

Services (12VAC30-70), effective July 1, 2020: 

Pursuant to the General Assembly mandate in HB30, Item 

313.BBBBB, DMAS will amend the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance to modify the definition of readmissions to include 

cases when patients are readmitted to a hospital for the same 

or a similar diagnosis within 30 days of discharge, excluding 

planned readmissions, obstetrical readmissions, admissions to 

critical access hospitals, or in any case where the patient was 

originally discharged against medical advice. If the patient is 

readmitted to the same hospital for a potentially preventable 

readmission then the payment for such cases shall be paid at 

50% of the normal rate, except that a readmission within five 

days of discharge shall be considered a continuation of the 

same stay and shall not be treated as a new case. Similar 

diagnoses shall be defined as ICD diagnosis codes possessing 

the same first three digits. 

The total decrease in annual expenditures, including the 

managed care impact, as a result of these changes is expected 

to be $14,786,952 in state fiscal year 2021. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Other Types of Care 

(12VAC30-80), effective July 1, 2020: 

Pursuant to the General Assembly mandate in HB30, Item 

313.AAAAA, DMAS will amend the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance to allow the pending, reviewing, and reducing of 

fees for avoidable emergency room claims for codes 99282, 

99283, and 99284. Claims for these emergency room 

procedure codes with diagnoses on the avoidable emergency 

room diagnosis code list shall default to 99281 for both 

physician and facility reimbursement. 

The total decrease in annual expenditures, including the 

managed care impact, as a result of these changes is expected 

to be $40,441,596 in state fiscal year 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 

Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) 

2020 Provider Reimbursement Changes 

Comment period: May 20, 2020, through June 19, 2020. 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates - Other Types of Care 

(12VAC30-80) and Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates for Long-Term Care (12VAC30-90). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act. A 

copy of this notice is available for public review from Emily 

McClellan, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, or via 

email at emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Emily McClellan and such comments 

are available for review at the address provided. Comments 

may also be submitted, in writing, on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall public comment forum at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov, on the General Notices page 

at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/generalnotice.cfm
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/generalnotice.cfm
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80): 

1. In accordance with HB30, Item 313.SSSS(1), the state plan 

is being revised to increase the rates for agency and consumer 

directed personal care, respite, and companion services for 

the Early Periodic Screening, and Diagnosis and Treatment 

(EPSDT) program by 5.0%. These increases will also affect 

rates utilized in Home and Community-based Services 

(HCBS) waivers. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures for 

EPSDT is $6,229,299 in state fiscal year 2021, including 

managed care. The expected increase in total expenditures, 

including HCBS waivers, is $49,834,388. 

2. In accordance with HB30, Item 313.HHHH, the state plan 

is being revised to implement a supplemental 

disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payment for 

Chesapeake Regional Hospital up to its hospital-specific 

disproportionate share hospital limit Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act 1993 DSH limit) as determined pursuant 

to 42 USC § 1396r-4. The payment shall be made annually 

based upon the hospital's disproportionate share limit for the 

most recent year for which the disproportionate share limit 

has been calculated subject to the availability of DSH funds 

under the federal allotment of such funds to the department. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$12 million in state fiscal year 2021. 

3. In accordance with HB30, Item 313.III(2), the state plan is 

being revised to create additional hospital supplemental 

payments for freestanding children's hospitals with greater 

than 50% Medicaid utilization in 2009 to replace payments 

that have been reduced due to the federal regulation on the 

definition of uncompensated care costs effective June 2, 

2017. These new payments shall equal what would have been 

paid to the freestanding children's hospitals under the current 

DSH formula without regard to the uncompensated care cost 

limit. These additional hospital supplemental payments shall 

take precedence over supplemental payments for private acute 

care hospitals. If the federal regulation is voided, DMAS shall 

continue DSH payments to the impacted hospitals and adjust 

the additional hospital supplemental payments authorized in 

this paragraph accordingly. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in annual aggregate 

expenditures related to this change. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates for 

Long-Term Care (12VAC30-90) 

4. In accordance with HB30, Item 313.LLLL, the state plan is 

being revised to establish Specialized Care operating rates for 

fiscal years 2021 by inflating the fiscal year 2020 rates using 

Virginia nursing home inflation. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in annual aggregate 

expenditures related to this change. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Bowers Hill-Chesapeake Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Bowers Hill-

Chesapeake Inc. for violations of the State Water Control 

Law in Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Russell Deppe will accept comments by email at 

russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from June 8, 2020, to July 8, 

2020. 

Proposed Amendment to the Town of Elkton  
for the Elkton Sewage Treatment Plant 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue an 

amendment to the Town of Elkton for the Elkton sewage 

treatment plant, which includes injunctive relief for a 

proposed upgrade of the facility. A description of the 

proposed amendment is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Eric Millard will accept comments by 

email at eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-

7878, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from June 8, 2020, to July 8, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for Guria LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Guria LLC for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations 

associated with underground storage tanks at the Stafford 

Liberty facility, located at 1280 Jefferson Davis Highway, 

Stafford, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes 

to issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with 

the facility. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie Bellotti will 

accept comments by email at 

stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

June 9, 2020, through July 9, 2020. 

mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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Proposed Enforcement Action for  
LAP Retail Holdings LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for LAP Retail 

Holdings LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Yorktown, Virginia. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell 

Deppe will accept comments by email at 

russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from June 8, 2020, to July 8, 

2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Oldcastle Infrastructure Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Oldcastle 

Infrastructure Inc. for violations of the State Water Control 

Law at the Oldcastle Infrastructure concrete manufacturing 

facility located in Spotsylvania County, Virginia. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jim Datko will accept comments by 

email at james.datko@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

June 9, 2020, through July 9, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the  
County of Orange 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the County of 

Orange for violations of the State Water Control Law at the 

Orange County Airport facility located in Orange County, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Enforcement 

/PublicNotices. Jim Datko will accept comments by email at 

james.datko@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at Department 

of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from June 9, 2020, 

through July 9, 2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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